Wishy Washy Woman

Yesterday, we had a nice slow relaxing morning as we waited for for Aaron, Elisa, Kayla, and Ashlyn to arrive in NOLA.  They decided to take a spontaneous weekend trip to New Orleans to meet up with us.  They arrived around lunchtime, so along with Katie, we all congregated at the hotel.  For lunch we headed to the French Quarter; Aaron, Katie, Shannon, and I on bikes, and the rest of the family following in the car.  At Frank’s, Shannon and I split an oyster po boy and a muffoletta; a first for me on both and they were great.  Howerver, I think I would probably just prefer fried oysters without the sandwich.

Oyster Po Boy

Muffaletta

The French Quarter had amazing architecture and great energy, but my favorite part was the street entertainment.  The best was Valentino’s Jazz Puppets.  This puppeteer managed to give his puppets some serious swagger.  Dad and Shannon were so inspired, they decided to try to make a few extra bucks with their own interpretation.

The Puppeteer

After some time in the French Quater, exhausted, we all came back to the hotel to get a bit of rest.  Shannon was having a great time entertaining her nieces.  I convinced her to teach Kayla my favorite routine of hers, “Wishy Washy Woman.” Unfortunately for Shannon, she didn’t realize she was being set up; I had prepped Aaron to videotape her on his phone.  Shan, you never have to perform this act again, I can just watch it on my computer.  (I did have consent to post this)

For dinner we went to the Cheesecake Bistro; the name sounds drastically different than the more commonly known Cheesecake factory, but the establishment was surprisingly similar.  Katie and I split the Jambalaya pasta.  It was good, but it didn’t even compare to desert.  For desert Shannon and I had a slice of chocolate peanut butter cookie cheesecake.  I’m usually not a desert person, but that was really really good!

Day 21

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wishy Washy Woman

  1. Buzz Maiuri says:

    Bret – I graduated from Aquinas with your dad way back in 1966, and I ride a 1999 Softail Custom.
    I just wanted to let you know that you and your family are in my prayers.
    God bless, take care, hope you have a great Christmas and New Year Holiday, and keep riding in a good direction….
    Buzz

  2. Carol burke says:

    Don’t forget to go to Cafe Dumont!!!! Special and worth it! A quick dessert and a must when in Nolans!

  3. Ernie T says:

    Dude, you’re making me sooooo hungry! Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you all.

  4. wendy kruse says:

    Hi, I am Debbie Kruse’s daughter in law…she worked with your dad. I feel like I know you through your blog. You guys are amazing. Just wanted to let you know we are rooting for you. I love reading your stories. If you come through NC, please stop in….there’s a great BBQ place! Our prayers are with you and your family. Keep riding in a good direction!

  5. Christine says:

    Three cheers for the Wishy Washy Woman. I’m glad to see there is a new “woman” in training. This is something that must be carried from generation to generation.

    Merry Christmas to all of you.

  6. Jill St. George Forsythe says:

    Today is my best day after watching the Wishy Washy Woman. I Loved it!! This may give the Zumba trend some serious competition. This is a pleasure to read every day. It has become something like obsession. Thank you for sharing your adventure and incredible family & friends. Keep riding in a good direction and I will wait for my daily Hoefen fix.

  7. Jlag says:

    I am really lovin’ the eat-your-way-across-the-country tour! Shake it Shannon “Shakira” Hoefen…show ’em how it’s done, girlie! Miss you guys. Love to you always.

  8. “Wishy Washy Woman” is excellent and to echo another post, you’re making me so hungry.

  9. Debbie says:

    Hello Road Warriors!

    Well, first my sister is a bonified fantastic editor and now it seems she needs to try out for Broadway. Wishy Washy Woman–THE MUSICAL! NOW IN ITS FOURTH HIT YEAR! (of course, all tickets would be sold outs months in advance).

    And I will agree with all the other posts—this should be RIDE AND EAT in a good direction. Culinary delights at every stop and post. I do hope you guys got to go to Cafe De Monde for the beignets and cafe au lait–something that cannot be missed.

    And you make me want to sing–Down in Louisiana–they have a Cajun Christmas 🙂

    Hope the road and skies remain clear for you–and missing you both so much–wish you were here.

    Love you all so much–and as always, you carry my heart with you with every mile you cross.

    Sissy

  10. Daniel says:

    Shannon needs to orchestrate a Wishy Washy Women flash mob with the good people of NOLA, it could be massive!!! That muffaletta sure looks better than my scrambled eggs. I can’t wait to see where you guys go next.

  11. Bree Miller says:

    I have witnessed Wishy Washy Woman and it is awesome! Much love to you and Shan!

Leave a Reply

