Payback

Still proud of my accomplishment of catching Shannon on video performing Wishy Washy Women, I taunted her all morning by repeating the lyrics.  That’s how she got her revenge.  Kayla, I’m sorry you had to get caught up in all of this.  I hope someday you will trust your uncle again.

We started the day off yesterday with Cafe Du Monde.  This place was highly recommended by many people.  Aaron insisted that we wait until he arrived before going.  What could they possibly have?  Beignets and cafe au lait?  Sounds like fancy doughnuts and coffee.  I have now experienced and understand.  This is the best breakfast pastry I’ve ever had, covered in powdered sugar, and a great experience!

Cafe Du Monde

Shan, Kayla, Ashlyn

Cafe Du Monde

Aaron's Addiction

With a sugar and caffeine high, we were ready for a bus tour of New Orleans.  We took a two hour guided tour across the entire city.  This was a great way to get more familiar with NOLA’s history, architecture, and restaurants; the guide was extremely knowledgeable.

For dinner I told Katie that I wanted Louisiana’s best fried chicken.  At work, Crew B (more specifically Wade) turned me on to Popeye’s chicken.  I was looking forward to the real NOLA authentic version.  Katie took us to Jacques Imo’s Cafe, the coolest restaurant yet.  It’s located in a humble shot-gun style building.  The entrance brings you to the bar area; the seating area is accessed by walking through the kitchen.  The restaurant walls were all painted New Orleans style and covered with interesting art work.  The waiter completed the New Orleans Bayou feel, casually dressed and deep accent.  Started off with cornbread and a complimentary appetizer: alligator shrimp sausage cheesecake.  For dinner, fried chicken, mashed potatoes and beets.  Finally, complimentary pastries for desert.  If you go to New Orleans, don’t miss this place!

Jaques Imo's

Alligator Cheesecake

Katie, it’s been great hanging out with you and we look forward to catching you in Rochester for Christmas!

Day 22

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Payback

  1. Mandy Lindsey Cayouette says:

    Thanks, now my mouth is watering for beignets. 🙂 Glad you got to do N’awlins – it’s one of my favorite places in the country!

  2. John and Judy Lynd says:

    Bret, Shannon, Betsy, and Jim….thanks for allowing us to share this journey with you…you are in are thoughts and prayers as you all enjoy each day to its fullest! Judy and John

  3. Lisa says:

    I don’t know if it was the name or the picture…Aligator Cheesecake??? I must say Brett…you are the bravest man I know. I understand you have a sense of humor, but buddy, you just took it to the next level. I know don’t knock it till you try it, but I just can’t even imagine that I could order it…keep the stories and pictures coming. Love to all of your family and you.

  4. Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Cant wait to see you all in Rochester on Christmas Eve!!! We are heading home too!

  5. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Shannon – Loved you and Kayla doing “Wishy Washy Woman”! You girls rock!!!!!!!!
    But the “Payback” was the best! Way to go, girl! We laughed soooooo hard!
    Bret, nice try but I think the girls have the Grammy wrapped up! 🙂

    So glad you got to Cafe Du Monde to experience all those wonderful sugary delights!
    Yum, I am imagining licking all that wonderful sugary powder off my fingers while sporting a cafe au lait mustache. You all looked pretty happy! But I’m wondering about the reviews on the alligator shrimp sausage cheesecake?

    SOOOOOOOOO excited to see you all for Christmas!!!! Travel safely and you’d better watch out for a jolly, white bearded man wearing a red suit and landing a sleigh driven by deer on roof tops.

    LOVE YOU ALL!!!!!

  6. Michael Frohlich says:

    Love following the blog each day – it has become the morning routine for me – get up, crack a diet coke (I am addicted!) and read the blog. Gotta say, I love the Wishy Washy Woman – will there be any repeats in Pultneyville? I am sure there is enough good booze to induce it 🙂

    So glad you are having a good road trip – I commend you for trying all sorts of different foods!

    Keep riding and enjoy every minute of it!

    Hope I will be able to see you guys in Pultneyville over Christmas!

  7. Nanette Hance says:

    I am sure that “home for the holidays” sounds good to you and your family. For sure,
    it sounds good to all of us you have taken along on your adventure. Looking forward to seeing you soon … until then, warmest wishes to you and yours for a Christmas filled with many special memories. Safe and happy travels as you ride in this direction … a good direction!

  8. Jessica says:

    Bret – you make a great Wishy Washy Woman!!!

    Beignets – yum!
    Alligator Cheesecake – hmm…

  9. David and Laraine Frohlich says:

    Hi Bret and Shannon!
    So glad to hear that you are heading in OUR direction — we miss you guys so much!! It is TOO dark next door!!! Do you want us to stock up the frig — or are you heading to Rochester for a few days? Let us know — we will be glad to pick up whatever you would like!
    Travel safely and we will see you soon. Watch out for deer as you head north (REINdeer, that is!!!) 🙂
    Love to all,
    David and Laraine

  10. Aunt Bo says:

    Gotta love New Orleans…no place like it. Right? We are happy to have a reason to visit there frequently. How was that alligator cheesecake?
    Katie has taken us there as well..last year some time. Now I want to go back. There are so many good restaurants there…unique ones.
    On to bigger and better places now and back to the snow for you.
    Rochester will not disappoint! See you soon.
    PS. Way to go Shannon. 🙂

  11. Danielle says:

    Nice work, Shannon!

    And…I just heard that you will be home for Christmas Eve? This is wonderful because I am still planning on making my famous (as Bret calls it) Chile con Carne…with extra carne!

    Safe travels and lots of fun until we see you in a few days!

  12. Michelle says:

    Shannon- I am certain Simona would love to have a live version of Wishy Washy Woman on Christmas Eve!!!

  13. Cuzin Katie says:

    It was awesome taking you to Jacque Imos and around my city! We need to plan for New Year’s Eve…. I’m glad that I did not disappoint. Now that we are back in Rochester, we can put the hurricanes aside and enjoy some scotch (cold weather drink). Talk to you soon, xoxo

  14. Debbie says:

    Greetings Road Warriors!!!

    So happy to see that you made it to Cafe Du Monde-it would have been a travesty to miss it. But Alligator Cheesecake?? Man, that’s got to be the weirdest thing I’ve ever heard of –but do tell–what did it taste like?

    And Shannon? THATS MY GIRL!! Sooo amazingly proud on the payback. Never underestimate the power of a Steel Magnolia. “If you can’t say something nice about someone–come sit by me!”

    Love you guys!!

    Sissy!

Leave a Reply

