Home for the Holidays

We headed back to Dana-Farber this morning for the final day of screening.  Today was a much shorter appointment with only an eye exam.  With my eyes dilated, and the world a bit brighter, Mom, Shan and I started the seven hour drive home to Pultneyville.  On the road I received a follow up call from Dr Wagner with the results of my CT scan from the previous day.  I was prepared for anything, but fortunately the news was good.  The cancer is still only visible in my leg!

After roughly three weeks on the road it is great to be home again for a few days.  While out of town our amazing neighbors, David and Laraine, have been keeping an eye on the house.  When we arrived home we were completely surprised to walk in to a Christmas tree, wine, homemade cookies, my favorite Lay’s Natural Sea Salt Thick Cut Potato Chips, and a fridge full of the fixin’s for a southern breakfast.  Now it feels like Christmas – thank you David and Laraine!!  We moved to Pultneyville, a small town on Lake Ontario, and have quickly grown attached to the community.  The historical homes and lake views are incredible, but the community of Pultneyville truly makes it one of the nicest places to live!

Christmas in Pville

Day ??

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Home for the Holidays

  1. Scott says:

    Glad to hear there’s no further spreading, really hoping and praying for you! Merry Christmas!

  2. Crissy Kid says:

    Merry Christmas Eve Shan and Bret!!!!

    Glad it has gone no further than the leg!

    So cool that you have a tree and a super support group!

  3. Jeanne Beck says:

    Dear Bret (and Shannon), I love that you are celebrating life each day, that you are feasting and laughing and appreciating and savoring and delighting. What a testimony to life. The greatest chemo in the world is happening all through your system. Merry Merry Christmas Morning Magic in each and every day to you.

  4. JoEllen Fahy Schubmehl says:

    I know this is a bit late, but the “masshole” comment was hilarious!

    Merry Christmas to you all! So thrilled to hear of the good news from the CT.

  5. Elise says:

    Have a very happy holiday! I hope that you all bring 2011 in with a ton of fun.

  6. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    So glad that you are home to celebrate Christmas! I cried as I read of your CT scan results and wonderful welcome home.

    May your Christmas be blessed and the new year bring a complete healing.

    Love, Reggie & Mary Lee

  7. Emily & Dan says:

    Welcome home Bret & Shannon!!!! 🙂 Have a Merry Christmas! oxox

  8. Danielle says:

    Bret…the Chili con Carne (with extra carne) has been simmering away in the Crock Pot all morning. Are you psyched? =)

    See you in a few hours!

  9. Jose Salazar says:

    Bret, I am so glad and it is so nice to see that you are so positive about this whole mess, please don’t give up. Merry Christmas and happy new year to you and your family. We wish you guys the best!

    Jose and family!

  10. Jose Salazar says:

    Bret, I am so glad and it is so nice to see that you are so positive about this whole mess, please don’t give up. Merry Christmas and happy new year to you and your family. We wish you guys the best!

    Jose and family!

  11. Tamera Pulver Strzepek says:

    Glad to hear you had a bit of good news. Nobody is more deserving…maybe it is the start of a true “Christmas miracle.” Merry Christmas to you all and God Bless!

  12. Mike Gratz says:

    Merry Christmas!

  13. Sherri Kennedy says:

    What wonderful news you received today! There’s a lot of power in prayer and I hope you know there are lots of people who have you and your family in our prayers. I’m glad you all arrived safely back home in Pultneyville. We loved that quaint little town when we lived in Ontario. I miss the Pickle, but I think the last time I was there it was closed. Pultneyville is a nice town, but there is certainly no place like home no matter where it is geographically located. Home is truly where your heart is. Merry Christmas to you and your family. I look forward to more of your adventures after the holidays.

  14. Debbie says:

    Merry Christmas Road Warriors!

    So happy to hear you’re back in P’ville (and how sweet of your wonderful neighbors to have the holiday goodies and tree waiting for you!) Nothing can compare to the love that being home can bring. Swaddle yourself in all that warmth of family love and the glow of knowing SOOO many people far and wide are praying for you on this Christmas.

    And that is FANTASTIC about the CAT scan!! Such wonderful news and an awesome holiday gift to hear. While you’re home, sleep late…indulge in every whim and just relax for a few days. The road will be there to answer your call when you’re ready.

    And on a personal note to my beautiful sister–Merry Christmas my darling Shanny. My Sweet Pea. You are my sunshine –my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are grey. You’ll never know Shanny..how much I love Shanny–please don’t ever take my Shanny away.

    Blessings to the Hoefens and the entire Pultneyville community who have opened their hearts and homes to my sister and brother-in-law. A deep fount of gratitude from all of us here in the southern climes. Please give Shannon and Bret plenty of warm hugs from us and we cannot wait to see them again.

    Merry Christmas!!! Love you so much!

    Sissy

  15. Mike says:

    Dear Brett,
    It was great to see you last night! My only regret is that I didn’t get the chance to tell you what a cheap, lying, no-good, rotten, four-flushing, low-life, snake-licking, dirt-eating, inbred, overstuffed, ignorant, blood-sucking, dog-kissing, brainless, ****less, hopeless, heartless, fat-***, bug-eyed, stiff-legged, spotty-lipped, worm-headed sack of monkey **** he is. Hallelujah. Holy sh***t. Where’s the Tylenol?
    (Insert shocked look by people who don’t know the movie here:_____)

    Merry Xmas Brett & Shan. We love you guys. I’ll wait to comment more when you post about the party. Have a great day!

  16. Ramin says:

    Somehow I’m up before the kids! it’s been a busy few days – so my early morning has been spent catching up on your latest posts.
    I’m glad to see you’re home for the holidays.
    You are very much in the thoughts and prayers of my family…

    Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas! God Bless!

  17. Tim says:

    Oh Brett, My Friend,
    Simply know that you are NOT your body.

    You are the unique presence of an Infinite Creative Love.

    We weave that unique Love-that-we-are into the lives of those about us…thru the words and actions of the material body that we’ve been given, that we live in…temporarily (for the time).
    That unique Love-that-we-are is timeless, and woven into their lives, creates them, enables them to be more real, more fully who they are. That unique Love-that-you-are is woven into their lives, into their love, to love timelessly. Because of your Love living in them, they are more fully who thay are.
    And someday, we learn that living in this mortal body is like living in a used car.
    When a dying eastern monk was surrounded by his brothers crying, “Master, Master, don’t leave us!! ” he replied, “Leave you? Don’t be silly, where would I go? I’m simply trading in the old Ford.”
    Find Joy and Peace in the journey, Loving those you are with, from family and friends, to passing stranger, for that is where you will live, and your Love will create beyond the passing of the “well used Ford”.

    You body, yes, but you my friend, the presence of a unique Love, will not die.

    I Love You!!! Tim

  18. Daniel says:

    Merry Christmas Hoefen Gang! Bret, I am delighted to read of the positive news. The wine and cookies aren’t to shabby either. All in all, I hope that recent events foreshadow a healthy & prosperous 2011.
    P.S. Bret & Betsy, Jane (teacher) stopped by the desk and wanted to extend her best wishes.

Leave a Reply

