Lab Rat

Yesterday, we woke up early, 0430, in order to make my clinical trial screening at Dana-Farber.  Dad unfortunately was not with us as he headed directly to Rochester from New Orleans in order to do some work; we missed you Dad!  This meant a new line-up in the car;  Shannon was still navigator with Mom’s support and I drove.  Boston is definitely the most difficult city to maneuver that I have experienced and the fellow commuters are ruthless.  Chad characterized Massachusetts drivers best with his term “massholes.”  However, we managed to make it to my 0730 appointment safely and on time.

Masshole

The first appointment was with Dr. Andrew Wagner.  He discussed the clinical trial in more detail and performed an examination.  At this point he expressed some concern about a few burns on my leg from radiation; it was not until then that I realized that I wasn’t accepted into the trial simply by volunteering, I had to meet specific requirements.  Fortunately they did not think this would disqualify me.  Next it was on to the nurse where I had several blood samples taken followed by an EKG.  Ryan, I took a photo of the EKG for you to analyze.  Finally, the last appointment for the day was a CT scan.

Clinical Trial Screening

EKG

I was able to quickly put all of the needles, dye injections, and tests behind me with another one of Georges amazing meals; an awesome beef roast with potatoes and green beans.  Another great coincidence was that we also got to see Chad, Christie, Landon, and Miles who were visiting George and Christine from Washington DC.  It was great to get to see Landon and Miles at play and get to know them better, great kids!  Little Miles, I’m keeping my eyes on you, you’re getting a little too flirtatious with Shannon!

Chad, Christie, Landon, Miles

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lab Rat

  1. Michelle says:

    I think NYC and New Jersey drivers got Massholes beat with their ruthlessness. Sadly I think I have become one of them…
    Cant wait to see you guys tomorrow!

  2. Brea says:

    Wait…Why is that masshole’s steering wheel on the wrong side of the car?

  3. Dawn DeBadts says:

    This popped in my head when I read Brea’s comment/question “because he is a Masshole through and through, no matter how you look at him no matter where he sits, lol” Thanks for the laugh Masshole> My I can’t stop. My other comment is this, I used to like the little song “Wishy Washy Women”. But it became one of those songs I can not not get out of my head. I wake in the night and there it is. Shan, I really wanted you to sing it for me, but now I just want you to teach it to my little Justin. OK? Be safe with your travels folks. Please post when you are all home and safe.
    Merry Chritmas
    Love
    Gary and Dawn

  4. After looking over a number of the articles on your web
    page, I truly like your way of blogging. I saved as a favorite it
    to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in
    the near future. Take a look at my website
    as well and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

