“What whiskey won’t cure, there is no cure for”

Last week I was interviewed by Andrew Poole, a reporter for the Hornell Evening Tribune, about my battle with cancer and my journey of a lifetime.  The article, titled “Battling Cancer with Spirit” was published today and you can check it out at http://www.eveningtribune.com/.

Shannon and I finally had the opportunity to spend some time with our neighbors, and good friends, David and Larraine.  We were especially glad to catch them with their family still in town.  Michael, great to see you again; Mathew and Mandy, we’ve heard so many stories and it was great to meet the people behind them.  David was hard at work this summer installing a fire place in the living room of their amazing historic home.  Yesterday we sat by it while enjoying some drinks, and it took us back to the time period the house was built.  We exchanged gifts and a theme has emerged; we received a nice bottle of Wasmund’s Whiskey, and left the Frohlichs with a bottle of Blanton’s.  We always enjoy getting together with the Frohlichs for a drink!

The Frohlichs

Tomorrow morning we get back on the road to head to Boston, where I will start my clinical trial.  We spent our last night in town with Ryan and Makiko over dinner at Max’s Chophouse in Brighton; a sharp contrast to Stan’s BBQ and Mundy the Pirate’s Seafood.  The food was nice, but the experience lacked Stan and Mundy’s character.  I have to admit, whenever I see an a la carte menu with a really expensive steak and they don’t include the sides, my attitude toward the place goes downhill quickly.  I always appreciate a restaurant that prepares a well thought out complete dish.  We chose their special Tuesday night preset menu that includes a three course meal and wine.  I enjoyed trying the first course, an assortment of unique flavors including pate, blue cheese, garlic, jelly, pickled peppers and onions, and mustard served with toast.

Pate Appetizer

Ryan and Makiko, we look forward to seeing you on the road again soon!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “What whiskey won’t cure, there is no cure for”

  1. Aunt Bo says:

    Best of luck tomorrow..make sure those reserach nurses take good care of you. I will come and beat them up if they do not. I will be thinking of you all day!

  2. crissykid says:

    Shan and Bret………travel safely tomorrow……….and know that my thoughts and prayers are with you for a good turn out to this trial for you! ((((HUGS)))) to you both!

  3. Jean Ann Drum says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blogs and hope you keep them up. We really enjoy seeing the photos and especially the ones of your Mom and Dad as I worked with your Mom for a long time. Keep enjoying yourself and may you have many more good days to travel. Making memories is the most important thing you will do in your life. God Bless and you are always in our prayers.

  4. Michelle says:

    Good Luck tomorrow Bret! The article is great as well! We are thinking of you!

  5. Danielle West-Chuhta says:

    Good luck tomorrow Bret….:) I am totally loving your blog and all the great food you have been eating….(that is because I am a total “foodie!”) Enjoy your time out on the road….there are so many great places out there. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Debbie says:

    On the road again…just can’t wait to get on the road again…

    Good luck guys in Boston! I hope the nurses allow you to wear a hospital gown that fits (no slits in the back) and that your time there is filled with at least SOME fun. And since you’re back in Boston–I’d check the internet for BBQ Lobster 🙂

    Love you guys!!!

    Sissy

  7. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Safe travels back to Boston guys. We ‘ll be with you all the way and especially thinking of you tomorrow, Bret when you start your clinical trial. I’ll be right there behind Aunt Bo if those nurses don’t take excellent care of you – but, I know they will! They’ll get to love you just like we all do! So glad about the more encouraging news about your leg too!

    Nice article in the Hornell Evening Tribune. I have to believe that your inspiring story will only increase the awareness of CCS and make a difference in so many ways. YOU are making a difference!

    Hope your “home for the holidays” was everything and more that you hoped for. Sharing Christmas moments with family, friends, neighbors, co-workers – what could be more special! Now as you head back out on the road, we’re all back on the ride with you and cheer you on as you Ride in a Good Direction – to kick CCS to the curb!
    Sending lots of love and hugs in that good direction!

  8. Loretta says:

    Shannon, it was great seeing you yesterday. I’m so glad you and Bret had such a wonderful time this Christmas season! My prayers are with you both. Good luck with this new treatment Bret!!!

  9. David and Laraine Frohlich says:

    Dear Bret and Shannon,
    What a great time we enjoyed with you! Michael and Mandy and Matthew were so grateful they were able to be here when you were in town and visit with you! Thank you for everything, and know that our love, prayers and very best wishes travel with you to Boston — and beyond!
    Travel safely and savor every moment! We love you guys!!!
    David and Laraine

  10. Cousin Mike says:

    Well, it’s been awhile since I’ve read the blog because our computer has been down all week. No word on when I get it back–but I’m at the in-laws, ready to write. In the spirit of this blog’s overwhelming food theme, I’d like to discuss our recent outing at a fancy restraunt: Olive Garden. They have a gluten free menu now. Matthew highly recommends the kids menu chicken fingers!
    Ok, I’ve still got a few more posts to catch up on…

  11. Pingback: Giving the Journey Heart and Soul | Bret Hoefen – My CCS Story

Leave a Reply

