For Hire

It’s been two weeks since my last appointment at Dana-Farber which means its time to return to Boston once again.  Yesterday, Mom dropped Shannon, Ryan, and I off at the airport in Las Vegas as Ryan flew home to Rochester, and Shannon and I to Boston.  It’s always difficult saying good-bye to my brothers/best friends knowing that it could be a while before they get the time to get back out on the road.  Before parting ways we were able to sit down with Ryan for some breakfast.  Ry, thanks for joining us this weekend, I had such a great time!  If you ever need a chauffeur, I’m the guy.

Shannon and I had a direct flight from Las Vegas to Boston on Jet Blue.  Jet Blue is my favorite airline with the more seating room, individual TVs, larger bag of chips, and full can of soda.  Funny how the small things make such a difference.  I was catching some good Zs for the first few hours when I woke up to this sleep piercing cackle from the guy next to us as he watched Two and a Half Men.  I turned to go back to sleep when he erupted again.  If you can’t beat them join them, right.  I tuned in and watched along with him for the remainder of the flight.  Shannon hates the show, we joke that it’s the male payback for Sex and the City.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to For Hire

  1. Cousin Nancy says:

    Hey Bret,
    What a trip you are having. I am glad you got to go to Vegas. Where are you headed next? Remember, you can always stop here if you are coming back to this area.

  2. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Good Luck in Boston Bret and Shan! Ironically another snow storm heading in Northeast coast tonight…. do I detect flight delays and a letter to Jet Blue providing you with more round trip tickets in your future?

  3. Aaron says:

    I LOVE that show! Now for full payback there needs to be a couple movies to drag the women to! Sex and the City was extremely painful, BOTH times!

  4. Cousin Mike says:

    Lynn has recently gotten hooked on Sex & the City but I also like it’s male counterpart much better. Hmmmm, Charlie Sheen on the big screen? Maybe if he’s not in jail…

  5. Christine says:

    I’m thinking that maybe you two are bringing the snow to Boston! Do you know that Boston has had more snow this January than we usually get all winter. Let us know if there is anything we can do to help you or make your trip more comfortable.

    The blog has been so much fun. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Dani Solberg says:

    wow! I should write on your page more often, but when I am looking are your blog I am generally at work and multi-tasking! I love reading your blog and viewing your pictures on your incredible journey. I would love to do what you guys are doing. A little harder in my situation with a wheelchair, but nonetheless I would love to just get up and go. I am at 9 months Cancer Free right now and really thinking of celebrating in Vegas for my 1 year. I havent been there since I was 17 I love the scenery. I hope you guys have a great time there!!!! Enjoy your time and enjoy your family!

  7. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Hi Bret and Shan,
    Wondering if you two got stuck in Boston again with the snowstorm or if you’re back in Vegas? I know your mom is holding down the fort but hope you also get time to enjoy Dan and Karen’s condo before you meet up with Aaron, Elisa and the girls in California. So glad you got to experience the amazing buffet at the Bellagio. From all Michelle and Mario told us when they were there, it sounded totally incredible and by your pictures, it sure didn’t disappoint! You probably wished you could have just kept on eating and eating and eating……!
    We’ve watched Two and a Half Men too and it’s a hoot! Wondering if you laughed more at the show or the guy in the seat next to you who was laughing? (I’m also with the girls about “Sex in the City” – great chick flick)
    Thinking of you everyday and wishing you safe travels, fun adventures and special times. Our love and prayers are always with you.

Leave a Reply

