Where Did the Pixels Go

Exhausted from weeks on the road and a 3 hour loss of time between time zones, yesterday morning we slept in really late.  It felt great to lay in our own bed and just relax.  If it wasn’t for the sound of a snow blower coming from our driveway, we probably would have stayed in bed all day.  However, we looked out the window to find our awesome neighbors, Charlie and Carol, digging us out of a whole winters worth of snow.  We immediately rushed out to help.  A huge job reduced to less than half an hour…thank you so much for your help Charlie and Carol!

These days a half hour behind the snow blower is a workout.  Tired out I plunked down on the couch and took the opportunity to play with one of my Christmas toys, Nintendo’s Kung Fu.  It took me a couple hours of playing, but I worked my skill level back up to what it was about 20 years ago and managed to beat the game…an achievement to be proud of.  That’s right kids, those are called pixels!Later in the afternoon, another one of our neighbors, Nan, stopped by to visit and surprised us with some very tasty blueberry muffins.  If you haven’t picked up on it yet, Pultneyville is the best community.  We love traveling, but miss our neighborhood.

After a difficult day of snow blowing, Kung Fu fighting, socializing, and eating muffins, we wound down to a couple of movies, The Social Network and The American.  I really enjoyed The Social Network, it’s amazing to me how the internet has created opportunities for people to change the face of the world and become a billionaire with a single computer program and minimal assets.  Personally, I still haven’t jumped on the Facebook wagon.  I like the idea of a social network taking place off-line with face to face relationships.  Go ahead, I know the rest of the world is on-board, so tell me how great it is.  At least I can count on my Grandmothers to back me up.  Then again I’m probably a hypocrite…Shannon points out that the concept is not that much different than blogging???  More than ever, I realize that our relationships with each other is what matters in life.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where Did the Pixels Go

  1. Emily says:

    Hey! Welcome home guys!! 😀 I tried to shovel today just from being out of town since Saturday and I couldn’t get rid of all of the slush. YUCK! I’m sure you don’t miss the weather.
    I have a pretty decent donation for you… could I drop it off at your house while your home or do you just want me to send it with the boys when they visit you next week? Let me know! 🙂 Text or email or tell someone to tell me! Whatever works for you! ❤

  2. Cousin Mike says:

    I have a facebook account, but don’t know how to use it. The college PV kids set it up for me. Every now and then I’ll get an email that says I have 58 friend requests, but I don’t know how to access my account so I just delete the email. On the contrary, I am an ALL-STAR when it comes to the Hoefenet and blog comments.
    Now I’ve gotta go shovel the driveway.

  3. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    FB has pros and cons… I use but not additively. Will never put anything too personal on it. Get friend requests from people I have no idea who they are and just ignore them. But the concept is great and a good way to connect with people in your past that you may have never seen again.

    Welcome Home Guys! Where is the snowman in the front yard?

  4. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    PS- that comment above is from Cousin Michelle but since my mom was here and changed my settings for replies that is why it says Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon!

  5. Aunt Bo says:

    Welcome back to the land of the snow! Sounds like Boston will be a little calmer today and tomorrow…Thinking of you and sending good thoughts your way.
    I have a FB account too but do not really use it. Makes me a little nervous. A number of people have asked to “friend me” but I ignore them…then I feel bad. I feel like I am rejecting them ..when the truth is I just do not get “the whole FB thing” and it’s addiction. Did enjoy the movie..not sure it deserves the academy award but was certainly entertaining.
    Keep riding in a good direction!

  6. Matt Garippa says:

    Hey Bret,
    I have been checking out your page. What an adventure! I hope you are doing well.

  7. Elisa says:

    Glad to hear that you both made it home and got some rest. Looking forward to watching those movies too. FB is interesting, but like most I do not use it much. I must say I have connected with people from Peru from when I was in elementary school. Hope you guys have a safe trip to Boston!

Leave a Reply

