Peering Into the Crystal Ball

When the alarm went off at 6 AM yesterday morning, I was not ready to get up after only about 3 hours of uneasy sleep.  Desperate for a few more Zs, even the extra 20 minutes gained by taking the last shower was greatly appreciated.  We manipulated our way through the massholes to Dana-Farber where we were welcomed into their brand new Yawkey Building.  The new facilities were amazing, tons of space, new furniture, amazing original artwork on the walls, and a kitchen full of snacks for the patients.

We met back up with my nurse Carolyn who drew a few blood samples while filling us in on her recent winter excursion to Yellowstone.  Sounded amazing, and then when we saw her photographs we thought maybe we need to tie this in to our own trip?  Geysers and wildlife surrounded by the solitude of the vast winter scenery.  Carolyn, you are an incredible photographer!

Next it was a CT scan which by Friday will paint a clearer picture of my future.  No solid answers or new information today just data collection.  At the end of the appointment at about 5 PM we jumped back in the car, turned around, and headed right back home.  It seemed as though we had exhausted our debate from the previous day, but a subtle joke about it pulled us right back in.  It continued until we stopped for dinner at a small town highway diner; truly the epitome of rural America.  We caught an interesting conversation from the only other patrons and they weren’t afraid to lay it all out for everyone to hear.  Of course today was my best day, but not my best meal.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peering Into the Crystal Ball

  1. HP says:

    For some reason I wasn’t able to access the blog yesterday (withdrawal!), so am now catching up. Thinking of you guys today as you get your results. Sending you all our love and thinking good thoughts for wisdom for your doctors, a miracle in your test results, and peace for all of you. Big hugs!

    • bhoefen says:

      Sorry about the technical difficulties, I’ll have a word with IT/Shan this morning when she shows up to the office…you know her work schedule! She may show up late, but is very dedicated and stays late. I’ll take any chance I can get to joke her about sleep habits. Thanks for the great thoughts.

  2. Terry Concessi says:

    I am praying that no news is good news!!
    I am following your blog and have been for quite a while since Mike Gratz sent out the link on facebook…
    I don’t know what to say, I love your post, stories and pictures, but I also hate your post because it wouldn’t be here if you weren’t sick.
    DAMN CANCER!!!

    • bhoefen says:

      Thanks so much for following our adventures and for your support. Comments like yours reassure me that I’m doing the right thing and push me to keep going. I’m not sure how you know Mike, but I have so much respect for him.

Leave a Reply

