The Recovery Room

After the long drive from Las Vegas to Bakersfield, our first stop was Best Buy to pick up our new gadgets.  Walking toward the store, my leg was so painful I almost turned back to the car.  That’s when we decided that Sunday needed to be a zero day.  Upon arrival to our Residence Inn Hotel, we got unloaded, and Shannon set me up on the bed with my leg elevated way up in the air where it remained all day yesterday.

It wasn’t long before I had a fellow patient in bed with me.  Sunday morning, Shannon ran over to the lobby to catch breakfast just as they were packing up.  With her arms full she brought breakfast back to the room.  In an attempt to balance a pile of plates, she poured hot coffee on her arm.  The coffee was so hot it instantly burned the skin off her arm and over the course of the day formed the biggest blister I have ever seen.  I wish I was as tough as her, not a complaint.  That was all coming from my side of the bed.  She is without a doubt one tough cookie!

A day of nursing our wounds in bed gave us the perfect opportunity to get our new phones set up and learn how to operate our new camera.  Can’t wait to hit Yosemite to put them in action!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Recovery Room

  1. david says:

    OUCH!! i’d have been crying all day, i scalded my fingers once on this candle lantern i got for christmas, and blistered a little on both sides of my middle and ring. Ask sarah, i whined for 2 days with my hand in a water glass…….. Shannon, you are a trooper like none other I’ve seen!

    • Shannon says:

      Oh no, now I’m crying! Yeh, I’ve learned that whining doesn’t work on Bret but the puppy dog face seems to be more effective.

  2. Emily says:

    THAT picture gets my vote for the cutest face posted on the blog to date! Oh my gosh Shannon, you are too adorable! I hope that you both fell better soon. Bret, you need a picture up here of you trying to make that face too haha!

  3. Pam says:

    Oh nooooo! Bret, I don’t know if you know anything about turmeric. You can get the capsules at the vitamin isle at the Walmart pharmacy. It’s supposed to have umpteen medical benefits. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turmeric scroll down and look at the medicinal research. Might help reduce inflammation for you both. I give it to my 92 and 94 year-old parents, and cook with it myself.

    • Bret says:

      So many options out there, it’s difficult to know which ones are worthwhile, versus those that are snake oil. I’m unfamiliar with turmeric, but will definitely check it out next time I’m in Walmart on your valued recommendation. Thanks so much for your support!

  4. Jessica says:

    Hey Bret,

    It’s been a long time since I’ve chatted back to you. Still enjoying your blogging – some of the posts from the last week have been laugh out loud funny (especially when my mind’s eye see the faces you would be making as the words are pouring out of your mouth.) 🙂

    My Mom’s in town today – we met up with your Mom for lunch. We are now all sporting the coolest bracelets… You have some pretty creative, supportive and overall awesome friends in your life. While I’m sorry Bets not out on the road with you, it was really nice to see her. We’ve missed her in NY!

    By the way – Shannon is a total trooper! I had to look twice to see if that was the blister or a big band-aid covering the blister!!! (I’ll second the “cutest face posted on the blog to date” nomination, though! So pitiful, Shannon!)

    Hope you enjoyed your zero day.

    Love,
    Jessica

  5. Laurie Dixon says:

    Ouch, poor Shannon. I think they say to take wine for a burn. Oh, and maybe some chocolate too. Keep your leg elevated and your spirits up.

    • Shannon says:

      And Laurie, I hear wine helps with bronchitis too! Sorry to hear that you’re under the weather. I recommend cutting desert sand out of the diet.

  6. Mom says:

    How I wish I was there…I’d get you that wine and chocolate…great advice, Laurie.
    You take care of that burn, Shannie. Love you.

    • Shannon says:

      Missing you here too. You would absolutely love the colors, textures, and depths of the terrain that we saw yesterday. And I’m loaded on the wine…just in case we get stuck in the Forest. It has so many multiple benefits…not just the traditional ones…more like relaxing my nerves with Bret’s determination not to follow the GPS and with a little extra dose…knocking me out when the going gets really rough.

  7. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    OUCHIE!!!! The things we women do for our men and the wounds we have to show for it!

    Hope you like your new camera, sure you will get some good usage from it! Cant wait to see more photos!

  8. Makiko says:

    Ouch, Shannon! Remember to keep it covered to protect the area, as wounds also heal better in a moist rather than a dry environment… Also, I’ve got another Instyle magazine that’s awaiting your perusal.

    • Shannon says:

      Makiko, it so pays to have doctors in the family. I think it looks worse than it really is though I’d be the first to admit it looks a little gross. Definitely on the mend, just need altitude sickness pills now after yesterday in the high elevations. Hope you and the boys are doing well.

  9. Donald & Laurie Fox says:

    Poor Shannon … she has the best, cutest facial expressions!

  10. Debbie says:

    My poor little sister! OUCH! Look at the size of that blister!

    All you need is a kiss from your big sis to make the owie go away, so drive to Virginia! 🙂 No? Oh well–it was worth a shot. I think you two need a ZERO week or at least a couple of zero days. Find a nice beach somewhere and just Chilllllllllllll. Oh yes, with wine and chocolate on standby.

    I’ve got to wait a year to get my Iphone 4 so let me know if you like it better than the 3. Can’t wait to see pics (and I hope the thing has a zoom function on it!).

    I’ve always wanted to see Yosemite park so once more you’re going somewhere on my bucket list 🙂 Remember! I’m in Santa Monica next Monday-Wednesday if for some bizarre reason you’re in the neighborhood.

    Keep the leg elevated–get plenty of rest–and Bret? Kiss that adorable looking pout for me!!

    LOVE YOU GUYS!

    Sissy

    • Shannon says:

      My arm is definitely okay…I think? Got a little nervous last night in the middle of the pitch dark Forest and no hospital for miles away. Funny how that happens — we seek solitude and then freak out when we have it. We’re looking forward to going back into the Forest today to seek out some sequoia trees. I have to say that yesterday was a beautiful day. One of my happiest to date…that’s until Bret said keep going up this crazy steep, winding road after we missed our turn.

      Would love to see you for sure. Our plans are not yet concrete…we’re trying to juggle Bret getting surgery and determine next steps after making it to Stateline, NV for the concert on Saturday. Will keep you posted though.

      Hugs and kisses back at cha!

Leave a Reply

