Corrective Maintenance

The worsening condition of my leg is becoming more and more prevalent.  After two days of amazing travel through Sequoia National Park my leg was very sore and in need of another zero day.  That’s why I was encouraged yesterday when I spoke to Dr. O’Keefe and he agreed that it made sense to remove the largest and most active tumor in my groin.  However, the news was not as good as I hoped, the surgery will likely be more involved than anticipated.  There is concern over the ability of the skin to heal; it is not as healthy due to radiation treatment and there will be a hole left where the tumor is removed.  Therefore, the plan is to take another muscle from my stomach to serve as a flap to fill in the area.   This “corrective maintenance” has a projected recovery time of 10 days.  This is a difficult decision because the operation is not expected to improve my condition so much as limit future complications as the tumor gets larger, and there are risks associated with the surgery.

With so much support from friends and family, these difficult times have been much more manageable.  All of the encouragement, comedy, and support that I’ve received from this blog energizes me and keeps me going…thank you so much for your meaningful comments!  I was also overwhelmed when my good friends at Ginna surprised me with bracelets designed in black and orange to symbolize this adventure across the country on my Harley Fat Bob.  They had the sides engraved with my name and the title of the blog, Ride in a Good Direction.  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your support!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Corrective Maintenance

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    Sell the bracelets to fundraise for the trip!!! I want 10!!! If you’re home in Ra-cha-cha for 10 days, I’ll plan on a visit to see you. Get ready to be bombarded on your cell phone instead of on your blog–muhahahahahah

  2. Cousin Mike says:

    I heard this song yesterday and immediately put it on my ipod. Obviously, it reminded me of the inspiration you provide so many people…

  3. Julie says:

    Best of luck to you during this “roadblock”. I wish you a quick recovery so that you may continue happy travels with friends and family!

  4. Yvonne M Sellers says:

    I want 10 bracelets also!! If I put on FaceBook that they are available I am sure you could raise a lot of money.. If not for your road trip.. Maybe for research for a cure? Please contact your Ginna Friends and tell them we all want to buy them!! Best wishes with your upcoming surgery.. And just so you know.. It is snowing again back home.. ):

  5. Scott says:

    I would also like some of the bracelets… Let me know when they’re available…

    Keep on Keepin’ On!!!

    By the way… if you’re ever travelling near Philly, PA on your trips to Boston, stop in to:
    Carrabba’s
    4650 Rte. 42
    Turnersville, NJ 08012

    Dinner is on me for your whole crew!
    (I also keep some super secret, really great Italian red wines)
    -Scott

Leave a Reply

