Thank You Democrat & Chronicle and Hardtales Magazine

Yesterday, I was honored to have my story posted in two publications, Rochester’s Demacrat & Chronicle and Buffalo’s Hardtale’s Magazine.  Both articles were extremely well written and painted such a great picture of our road trip.  Thank you Chris Swingle and Jean Loughran.  Click the pictures below for the full articles.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thank You Democrat & Chronicle and Hardtales Magazine

  1. These are two great write ups. Sharing your story makes the world a better place. Plus you’re getting to define your legacy, every day, every word at a time. Keep ’em coming.

  2. Dani Solberg says:

    GREAT article! I have shared it with many others as well! I am glad we have met and that I know someone going through similar things with me. Same cancer, different treatments, but at the end of the day we have the same emotions. I have days where I want to go and live life to the fulliest then I have days where I get very emotional and want to stay in bed and not talk to anyone. I probably have more of the emotional days. This cancer is hard and for being so young it makes it harder. We will all get through it someone. I am glad you have an amazing family to help you each and every day. I want you to continue your journey and spend more time on the road. If you ever need anything please let me know and I will do my best to help! hugs to you both and stay safe on the snowy roads out there!

  3. Frank Sarago says:

    I was drawn to the movie “The Motorcycle Diaries” based on the title and it turned out to have little to do with motorcycles. It was much bigger than that. When I reflect on that movie my thoughts are triggered by injustice and anger. When I reflect on your story my thoughts are triggered by chicken wings and beer.

  4. jeanarlenel says:

    Aww shucks – you are too sweet. Your blog’s brought me laughter and learning through a long winter. I learned that we are never out out options.

  5. Ashley says:

    Ditto on the great articles comments! I’m glad that chris’ story was a part as well…hope you have safe continued travels!

  6. Kaylee says:

    Bret & Family,
    We read your story in the D&C about what you’ve been doing the last few months and we are so proud of you! We were very impressed with the way you’re choosing to make the best of what you’re going through. We really wanted you to know that you really made an impact on us, we think of you often. Thank you for being such an inspiration to us and other people going through the same struggles. We wish you all the best!
    Love,
    Your radiation therapists ❤

Leave a Reply

