Flying the Red Eye and a Little Cranky

After a long day, we caught the red eye flight home leaving Sacramento at midnight and arriving in Rochester at 11:00 AM.  We got a little shut eye, but not enough to qualify as sleep.  That’s why it was all that much more frustrating when we got to the baggage claim in Rochester and our luggage wasn’t there.  When we boarded the plane, all the overhead storage was full, so the flight “attendant” checked our bags but somehow they didn’t make it through with us.  The most nerve racking part was that my prescriptions and our new camera were stowed in my bag.

It wasn’t easy for me, but I had to put it out of my head since we were headed directly to an MRI appointment for my upcoming surgery.  It took a little coaching from Dad and Shannon and a Dibella’s sub before I got my mind clear.  I’ve had several MRI’s, all without too much difficulty, but this time was different.  They informed me that with the extensive imaging they planned for my right leg and pelvis, I would be on the table for about three hours; no sweat, I once was on the table for over four.  However, this time, with the way I was laying flat on the table and the weight of the coil against the affected area of my leg, I started to feel a burning sensation and extreme discomfort.  I grinned and tried to bear it for the first couple images, but there was no way I could continue for three hours.  After squeezing the emergency help trigger a couple times, they ultimately pulled me out so I could take a couple percocet before conitinuing.  Even with the pain killers I was still feeling discomfort, so we decided to do only half the imaging and finish the rest a couple days later.

After a rough day, things turned with the arrival of our luggage.  Then the solution to all of life’s problems, a home cooked meal at Mom & Dad’s.  Eating on the road is great, but there is nothing like Mom’s mashed potatoes.  And for desert, we headed to Ryan and Makiko’s for wings and beer where we also got to catch up with David and Sarah.  It was like Festivus, we each aired our airline grievances.  Some recurring themes:

  • Herding the gate – even though there are several comfortable seats at the gate and assigned seats on the plane, we all seem to herd the entrance at the same time.  Why do they have zones!?
  • Take your time – after a long wait to board the plane, some people seem to have no qualms about hanging out in the isle getting situated while the rest of us wait.  Haven’t you seen the Seinfeld “Soup Nazi” episode?  Stow your bag, sit down, keep the line moving!
  • No overhead space – because the airlines charge a fee for checking bags, everyone now seems to carry-on their oversized bags leaving the last man on no overhead space.
  • First off mentality – when the plane arrives at the terminal, many people seem to think that they can pop up and be first off the plane;  relax, we all leave in an orderly sequential line, popping up does not get you off any quicker.

By the time we got home around midnight, we had been awake for almost forty hours, and it felt good when we crashed in our own bed!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flying the Red Eye and a Little Cranky

  1. Lisa says:

    And the good witch from Wayland said “click your heals three times Ryan and repeat after me,There’s no place like home, There’s no place like home, There’s no place like home…I wish I could give you a BIG hug and say it in person. My daily prayers include you and Shannon.

  2. Tara Fox says:

    I agree with Lisa, “there’s no place like home!” I live in Virginia Beach and love it down here in the south but nothing can compare to being home 🙂 Your in my prayers daily!

  3. joedaddy24 says:

    I’m amazed.
    I saw a story about you in my daily paper, that was written by Chris Swingle. After I read the article, I jumped on my phone & started digging. I read all of it. I joined wordpress just to tell you- You are an inspiration. Your outlook on life is impressive. I am humbled by your story, and am thankful it found me.

    Thank you for sharing Bret.
    You & your family are in my prayers.
    Keep smilin’
    Joe

  4. Aunt Bo says:

    What you go through, Bret. You are the man.

    I am flying to Boston today and will remember all of your “airport boarding” etiquette. It is funny when you think about…you hurry up to wait some more. I hate flying and airports in general. Also, really dislike the red eye. I have done that a few times. It always seems like such a good idea at the time you book the flight. But the reality is horrible.
    Great to have you back in Rochester. Hope to see you soon.

  5. Marianne Borrelli says:

    Now Carol I can’t imagine you on the Red Eye! You don’t even stay up long enough to watch DWTS. How do you stay up to get to the airport????

    I hear your frustrations with Airports too!!! Why are people so lame and inconsiderate sometimes? You forgot to mention for airplane etiquette not to put your seat back! There isn’t enough room as is. Why do some people make it so much worse!!!!
    Glad we aired that!!!!!

    There is no place like home and a family meal! It makes up for everything! Never thought of Beer and wings as dessert, but it sounds good!!! Wishing you a speedy recovery to resume your journey.

  6. Debbie says:

    Welcome home Road (and sky) Warriors!

    FINALLY! I can send some much delayed Christmas presents to you guys, LOL! Think of all the fun you can have opening prezzies on a brisk March morning *blinks* It’ll be March madness in the Hoefen family. 🙂

    Speaking of airlines and airplanes (just having gotten off a few flights from Los Angeles back to Roanoke) I have some of my own grievances to air-if you will allow me.

    Ahem–

    If you have children flying with you, please have something for them to do besides sing ONLY the first 2 lines of “Rain, rain go away” for 30 minutes straight. I was contemplating pouring water over the kid’s head myself and scream–SORRY! BUT ITS GONNA RAIN TODAY!

    If you know you’re going to be on a very tight confined airplane which will be oversold, PLEASE PLEASE do not douse yourself with some overbearing obnoxious perfume and for the LOVE OF GOD–not patchouli.

    As you stated before–stop trying to fit an overstuffed, busting at the seams carry on bag into the overhead bins. Ain’t gonna fit no matter how hard you shove it.

    But I am so glad you guys are home because there really isn’t anything as wonderful as sleeping in your own bed. Know my thoughts, prayers and all my love remains with you now and always. And if you need anything, I’m just a phone call away.

    LOVE YOU!

    Sissy

  7. Jessica says:

    I love Festivus… 🙂

Leave a Reply

