Truly Honored!

Yesterday I learned of two meaningful gestures of support that put me in such a good place right before my surgery.  A while back following an amazing week in New Orleans with my cousin Katie, she mentioned that she wanted to get a tattoo with a theme based on our road trip.  So yesterday when she texted me a photo of her existing fleur-de-lis tattoo newly enhanced with “Today is My Best Day” followed by my name, I was truly honored!  Cousin, I’ve always thought of you as one of the most thoughtful people I know, and so considerate of everyone around you.  You put a smile on my face at just the right time.

And thoughtfulness knows no age limit, especially when it’s cultivated by such a wonderful family. Last night, John’s daughter Sam brought over to the house her Powder Puff Derby race car which she carved and painted herself with a “Ride in a Good Direction” theme.  She blew me away with this hot rod symbolizing our journey!  For anyone not familiar with the Powder Puff race car, it’s the Girl Scout’s version of the Pinewood Derby.  We’ve grown to know Sam as an incredible performing artist on stage as well as with her artwork.  I’m honored once again, and Sam I know that you and Christina are going to do well in the races Saturday!

I couldn’t have been in a better place for this surgery.  We had a nice relaxing day at home with great visits from Brendon and the Zimmerman family, followed by a nice night at Mom and Dad’s with a visit from Ryan.  My surgery was scheduled for 7:30 Friday morning, but we were asked to arrive at 5:30 to complete all of the preliminary work.  As I crashed at midnight at my parent’s house with my alarm set for 4:30 in the morning, I was sure I would not be one of those people waking up in the middle of my surgery.


About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Truly Honored!

  1. Mom says:

    I am overcome… Words cannot begin to express the gratitude. I feel for all the amazing acts of love and kindness shown to Bret and our family. I, too, have a new tattoo…it’s a very long list of names of each person who has read the blog, written a comment, made a call, said a prayer, dropped in, offered a hug, worn a bracelet, performed a surgery….
    …a VERY long list…tattooed permanently on my heart.
    Lois Armstrong said it simply and beautifully…”What a Wonderful World…”

    • jean loughran says:

      Bret’s story is all over the country and I don’t think you’ll ever be able to get a full idea of how many people he’s influenced. His personal stories become our personal stories as we look at family, friends, pets, and the country through his eyes. Charles Dickens’ novels were serialized, and today we have Bret’s blog. You probably didn’t guess your son would be a writer with a national following. It’s been a long cold winter in Buffalo and my life is thankfully uneventful at this time. Reading Bret’s blog is a joy and it changed who I am. I’m better prepared to deal with the challenges that life will bring me because of Bret.

  2. Cuzin Katie says:

    likewise, cuz. xoxo

  3. JoEllen Fahy Schubmehl says:

    Honk! Honk!Honk!

  4. Tracey Zimmerman says:

    Bret,
    So happy that your surgery is behind you and you can now make plans to get back on the road. Thank you so much for the kind words about my Samantha. The love you and Shannon show us and our girls is a blessing beyond measure.

    I’ve always looked at my girls as perfect miniature people that have been given to me to help them reveal their innate personality, feed their brains, and influence their souls. (I always love it when you argue points with your mom regarding genetics vs. environment.) You have helped reveal my girls’ personalities, fed their brains, and influenced their souls in a million ways that no one else could. You have touched their lives and the lives of so many.

    All my love,
    Tracey

Leave a Reply

