Evan 4.0

Seems almost impossible to get a good night of sleep in the hospital with the routine vital checks and pain med deliveries around the clock.  Then before you know it, it’s 6 AM and the residents are starting their rounds.  Ryan would always talk about the routine while working through his residency, but I guess it didn’t sink in until I was actually laying in a hospital bed living it.  When the day shift nurse came into the room, she let us know that the discharge paperwork was all complete and I could go home anytime.  All I wanted to do was stick around a while longer and get some sleep.  I know most people are probably anxious to get out of the hospital as soon as possible, but I always find it a relaxing place to be.  At about 2 PM, after a nice long nap we headed back to Mom and Dad’s for the new release, Evan 4.0, or Evan’s 4th birthday.

Back at Mom and Dad’s they set me up in front of the TV in the upstairs den.  Just before heading out to the toy stores to find a gift for the E-man, Shannon found Swiss Family Robinson on TV for me.  Sounded like a great nostalgic movie, but 10 minutes into it I was out cold.  Several hours later when I woke up it was still playing…how long is this movie?  I caught a few more Z’s and then the next time I woke up it was to Owen 2.2 and Evan 4.0 and the rest of the family celebrating downstairs.  Confined to the couch upstairs, I missed the dinner and cake celebration, but later they brought the presents upstairs.  So much fun to watch my two nephews get excited about their presents.  Happy Birthday E-man!!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Evan 4.0

  1. Makiko says:

    I was surprised that you were ready and willing to subject yourself to toddler pandemonium with celebrating a kid’s birthday party the minute you were home from surgery and a hospital stay! Shannon even went out to buy Evan birthday presents when she should have been tending to you, with all that pain you’re experiencing! Thanks to an amazing Uncle & Aunt for going so out of the way to make Evan’s 4th birthday an incredibly special one.

  2. Ryan says:

    It’s great that you got a picture of Evan in his new Optimus Prime costume. He has barely taken it off since he got it yesterday. He’s even sleeping in it tonight. He reminds me of the kid in the Darth Vader costume in the VW commercial during the Superbowl.

  3. Mom says:

    …and speaking of birthdays…Happy Birthday, Mike! Hope it was special.

  4. Timpla says:

    Trying another post. Glad to hear that the surgery went well!
    We are thinking about you constantly!

    Love u guys!
    Timpla and Porter

  5. Marianne Borrelli says:

    Sounds like you are on the mend and recooperating nicely at Mom and Dad’s. Nothing like some excited nephews to put a smile on your face too!
    I loved that Super Bowl commercial!!! It reminded me of Eric running around in his Bat Man outfit. I made that when I had way too much time on my hands!!! THen Caroline had to have one … so we made Roger Rabbit for her. Good thing Halloween was soon because we were set! Good Old Days when life was far more simple!!!

    Happy Birthday Evan!

  6. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    So glad that you are through the surgery and home again! Now you can begin to focus on the Alaska direction!

  7. Ryan and Valerie Frischmann says:

    Bret, your neighbors to the left, Ryan and Valerie, read your blog with a keen interest in how you are doing and what great adventures you and your family and friends are up to. We hope you can make a quick recovery and start heading towards Alaska when the weather gets a little warmer. While you are away, I will practice playing chess so we can play a match when you return. My mother will bake you and Shannon something special. We’re pulling for you.

Leave a Reply

