Recovery

In a rested position, my leg already feels much better.  My surgery relieved a lot of pain in the area of the removed tumor and eliminated many of the shooting pains throughout my leg.  But unlike previous recoveries, where the baseline is normal, this time I’m learning as I go what my new limitations will be.  Again, the objective was not to cure the cancer, but treat the worst symptoms.  Where will I be left when I “recover?”  Able to continue traveling?  We need to get to Sacramento before we rack up too high of a parking bill!  My biggest challenge lately has been my calf muscle, which has been stiff and sore like a badly pulled muscle.  I’m able to walk, but with a lot of pain and difficulty.  In the meantime, most of my time has been spent in a deep sleep; probably a side effect of all of the pain medications.  I need to start drinking more water to clear my system, they’re playing games with my head!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Recovery

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    Don’t worry about your strut. You’re popular and cool and people follow you. Remember what happened to Ronnie Miller in 1987’s “Can’t Buy Me Love”. He couldn’t dance, so he learned an African Tribal Ritual. When he unvailed it at prom, it could have been a disaster, but cool people like you and Ronnie Miller have followers…

    • Jill St George Forsythe says:

      Mike, you earn a free pass this time because of the clip. You are slipping with your street/ blog cred. We work with kids… we know… it’s a swagga’… not a strutt any more.

  2. Larry Mireles says:

    Keep rinking water Bret! Must keep the mind clear!!

  3. Jill St George Forsythe says:

    I am excited things went well with Dr. Mitten. You must be very special (or extraordinarily persuasive) to get him to take pictures…He wouldn’t let me even watch when he fixed my hands!! I am still a daily reader and learn something new every day. You are the man!!

  4. Emily I. says:

    Sounds like you need more cookies!! The oatmeal will help soak up some of the meds…That’s probably not true but it sounds like a pretty good excuse for me to make you more cookies this weekend.

  5. Uncle Kevin & Aunt Judy says:

    Hi Bret, So glad that you’re recovering quickly–we all need you to get back on the road. We’ve been a week without any adventures and it’s getting boring! Don’t worry about sleeping so much. I’m pretty sure that’s what recouperation is all about. Love Mike’s video clip, and he’s right. You’ll have lots of followers no matter how you are struttin’ (or swaggin’).
    Heal!
    Love, UK & AJ

  6. HP says:

    The pain meds can mess with the head – but serve an important purpose too. Resting is good for recovery.

    Oh, also thought you might like to know… Pascal went to a local bike shop to get a part for fixing his current bike… And put a security deposit on a BMW R1200. I think you’re a long-distance bad influence. 🙂

  7. Jamie L says:

    I work with your Aunt Carol- I have been following your blog every day. I am so happy you have found some relief from some of the pain. I wish you a quick recovery and hope to read about more of your adventures soon! You are an inspiration!

  8. Jessica says:

    Bret – you are amazing! Going from an estimated 10 days downtime to being up and around in just over a weekend… Wow. Must be the extra TLC from Jim and Bets! (And – yeah – she does make the best mashed potatoes!)

  9. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Bret,
    I have to agree – while pain meds. help alleviate discomfort so you can rest better, sometimes they can have nasty little side effects like messing with your head. Hang in there and know you’ll be back on the road soon – enjoying new adventures and taking us all with you through your beautifully written narratives and photos. Rest while you can – you’ve got work to do! We’re with you every step of the way.
    Love you,
    Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon

  10. Scott Dixon says:

    Listen to the doctors and listen to your body. Their advice will dictate when you are ready to resume the tour. And then, full throttle, my friends! Always in my thoughts.

  11. Makiko says:

    So good to facetime you and Shannon last night (what are we to do without the Iphone4?)! It was a relief to see you guys smiling. I can’t wait to hear more about your adventures soon….

Leave a Reply

