National 40s Day

Yesterday morning I woke up to a text from cousin Jeff stating “I just checked the calendar and it’s 40s Day.”  This is a holiday that Jeff and I created back in college, and no it does not celebrate a generation, but the ideal volume of malt liquor…the 40 ouncer.  The holiday originated when Jeff was hiking the Appalachian Trail and made a detour to Raleigh, NC to visit for a weekend.  On a beautiful sunny spring day with no particular plans, we spent the afternoon on the stoop sipping 40s, eating Doritos with cheese dip, and enjoying life’s many fun and sometimes unusual moments.  It was such a great time, we decided to make it an annual event, although the date is never the same.  That’s why I was so excited when Jeff informed me that he was ready to once again observe this sacred holiday.

As any malt liquor connoisseur knows, drinking 40s is serious business and you have to be in the right condition.  Most importantly a full, but not stuffed, stomach.  That’s why lunch with our friends from Ginna was the perfect compliment to this holiday.  Dan, Lynn, Ryan, Eric, and Stacey brought over an awesome lasagna lunch with all of the accompaniments.  Lynn’s crock pot lasagna and Ryan’s gourmet salad were delicious!  Then the party grew as we were also joined by Ken, Brendon, Scott, Laurie, John, Tracey, Bob, and David.  Troopers considering just about everyone either just came off shift at the plant, or was about to start.

Last time we got together with Scott and Laurie they brought over some of their homemade wine, which we really enjoyed.  This time they brought more, but now with the coolest customized labels.  We now have a case of caBRETnet, Shannonay, and Zimmfriendel.  We were floored with this thoughtful gift.  As much as we want to drink it all, I can assure you three of these bottles will remain permanently sealed.

I tried to sell 40s Day to the rest of the gang, but surprisingly, everyone either had prior obligations or wasn’t excited about the idea of drinking malt liquor…that is except for Eric.  I can always count on Eric.  Jeff arrived with all the holiday ingredients and we wasted no time starting the festivities.  Spending a bachelors weekend with his son, the little J-man, Jeff celebrated like a champ, but had to do less drinking and more chasing.  Eric and I picked up the slack and kept the meaning of the holiday alive.  Another great 40s Day!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to National 40s Day

  1. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Bret, this is cousin Mike–coming to you live from NJ at 4:50am (or if you don’t count the 1 hour skip for daylight savings, 3:50am). I’ve gotta get a quick workout in before heading up to NYC for nationals, but I wanted to remind you that I’m coming over tomorrow after work. I can’t compete with Jeff & 40’s day, but I plan to bring over a bag of delicious cortlands and celebrate apple/exercise day. We start with 5 push ups, then do 5 sit ups, then 10 push ups, then 10 sit ups and continue up by 5’s until we can’t do it anymore. THEN, we work our way back down the pryamid. After complete exhaustion, we then dig into a nice glass of water (or chocolate milk) and our crispy apples. I know you can’t wait… see you around 2:45pm on Monday. Love,
    Jack Lalane (aka, cousin Mike)

  2. Aaron says:

    Hey, I don’t see any duct tape. No quick games of “Edward 40’s Hands?”.

    I’m thinking Mike’s idea of a good time is sure to make you lose your lasagna and malt liquor! Careful!

    Counting down the days until I can join the adventure again!

  3. Dawn says:

    Bret- why didn’t that Cousin Jeff call his favorite Mom in Law. She would have brought the Chili she has in the freezer for dinner and took the Boy to her house?
    D

  4. Dawn says:

    Cousin Mike- Can I donate all the Cortlands you will ever need? Or by the way we have a new apple that will help any cause it is call the “Pink Lady”. Anyway, although I never give up my Yoga stretches that is the best I can do for the routine.
    Fondly,Dawn

  5. Cousin Geoffrey says:

    It was great to celebrate 40s day with you and many great new friends! 40s day is also a favorite holiday of mine. Unfortunately, it is always followed by my least favorite holiday, The Day after 40s Day. I hope your Day after 40s Day was tolerable!

    Mike – I like the sound of Apple / Exercise Day! Perhaps this could be somehow mixed with 40s day to create an exciting and unusual new holiday?! I’ll bet that the feats of strength would fit in nicely! Best of luck to Karmen at Nationals!!!!

  6. Daniel says:

    I am so very sorry I missed 40s day, what an inspired observances indeed. Fortunately today if 7&7s day so I will have time to reflect upon yesterday with reverence and rest assured I’ll pour some on the floor for our homies!

  7. Laurie says:

    40’s night was great. I got Scott out just in the knick of time. He was about 30 seconds away from giving in to the 40’s and pizza. He felt much better for it in the morning. I’m going to try to attach a tag to a story about Akiane, the child prodigy artist we were talking about on Friday. If it doesn’t work. Go to artakiane.com, Enter the site and click on the CNN video on the top of the page. She is amazing. Just watching the video makes me feel like no matter what happens in this life, everything is going to be alright.

  8. Laurie says:

    It didn’t work. I guess I need a lesson from Cousin Mike.

  9. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Bret,
    Uncle Lee and I laughed so hard after reading about 40’s Day and all the comments! We’re glad to know about this new unique national holiday and will make note of it on the calendar -even though it doesn’t always fall on the same day – at least we’ll have a general idea when it should be. Thanks for entertaining us with such a great celebration!
    I have to also once again give kudos to your incredibly, wonderful Ginna friends – for all the great support, love and food. They’re an amazing group of friends – priceless!
    Have a wonderful “Apple/Exercise Day” tomorrow with Mike! We’ll be thinking of you and will be anxious to hear all about that one! 🙂

  10. Thomas says:

    40’s day in Raleigh! I remember that. Chug a few for me!!

  11. Joe says:

    Wine (especially that made by friends) is intended to be enjoyed with a nice meal in the company of family and good friends. Thus, wine (like money) is useless unless it is ultimately enjoyed. So, I vote that you should drink the wine (but not all at once!) and save the bottles.

  12. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    We love traditional celebrations and have many … for example we are going to celebrate the Ice Storm Reunion this weekend with our neighbors, Sherron & Jack and Sue & Bill. This year marks the 20th year since that great storm that shut down the area for lots of days. Our traditional menu is pizza, champagne & cheese cake which we had the day the electric came back on. We’ll toast your National 40s day (with champagne) and wish you many more!

Leave a Reply

