Un-“Comfortably Numb”

As I made my way to bed following 40s Day, my leg felt better than it had in a couple weeks.  I was feeling no pain, and the stiff muscle in my calf was loosened.  In an attempt to further improve ny condition, I continued to stretch my leg as I walked laps around the house.  When I finally laid down to sleep, my foot started to go numb as though loosing circulation.  At first I was able to regain feeling by moving it around, but eventually it remained numb no matter what I tried.  What is this crazy feeling, a blood clot, tumors putting pressure on a nerve?  After a panicked sleepless night, in the morning we immediately followed up with Dr O’Keefe who informed us that it was most likely caused by aggravating the sciatic nerve.  Hopefully the inflammation will go away in time, and the feeling will be restored.  In the meantime, this is a very difficult sensation to get used to.  I spent most of the day in bed recuperating from 40s Day and relaxing my leg, until I finally got myself  up to get ready to visit with Jennifer who stopped by in the evening.

As we were enjoying Jennifer’s company, I made a few calls to family to pass on the information about my numb foot.  While talking to Ryan, I mentioned that he and the kids should drive out for ice cream.  Didn’t really expect him to make the 1 1/2 hour round trip to come visit, but sure enough he did.  Such a bonus to also spend the rest of the night with Ryan, Evan 4.0, and Owen 2.2.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Un-“Comfortably Numb”

  1. Cousin Geoffrey says:

    Bret – This is probably just a side effect from the Schlitz Red Bull – From what I understand, the full effects of this complex beverage are only partially understood by scientists.

    Seriously – I hope it is feeling better today!! Enjoy your last few days on East Coast for a while!

  2. Scott says:

    Uh, you don’t know how close you were to having me in 40s recovery with you. I was asking Laurie – are we staying or are we going, cause if we’re staying, those 40s look pretty good. I knew that I’d suffer the next day and probably take out that beautiful mirror in your living room along my stumbling way, so better that we moved on and left you and Eric and Geoffrey to your holiday!
    Hope you are feeling better,
    Scott and Laurie

  3. JoEllen Fahy Schubmehl says:

    Hey bret! I know you probably have much better advice a available than I can provide, but Jim dealt with this numbness down his leg for months. He went to a physical therapist and was given many stretches that have greatly improved this problem. He does his stretches daily and although he has some occasional symptoms (desk jobs are bad for these issues), he has never reverted to his prior state. Hope your leg feels much better soon!

Leave a Reply

