Drill Sargent Cousin Mike

Today I was able to put two of my biggest beurocratic troubles behind me: social security and taxes.  First, I received confirmation that I have been approved for social security disability, so no more paperwork or appeals…I hope?  Then we also turned over all of our paperwork for our tax preparation.  Definitely cause for celebration, but unfortunately not what was in the cards .  Just as he threatened, Coach Mike showed up this afternoon for some conditioning.  With so little notice beforehand, I didn’t have time to get in shape.  He had me right off to work on my push-ups and crunches; it was a miserable display on my part.  Mike should have known that an orange wouldn’t motivate me, it has to be something more like a garbage plate.  Okay, it’s just obvious that this picture is staged…I never could have pulled off two push-ups!

Once I regained consciousness after the exercise, Mike gave me a NCAA Tournament bracket to fill out for the Auble family pool.  I don’t much follow basketball, so my picks are mostly based on being able to cheer for our friends teams and seeing UNC get eliminated early.  Sorry Thomas, the rivalry will always continue.  Hopefully that’s enough inside information to beat Mike and keep me competitive with his youngest son Matty.

Later on Johnny Z, Tracey and the girls stopped over and once again brought more amazing food: a shepherds pie and an enchilada casserole along with some brownies.  We forced them to stick around and enjoy it with us.  Then not long after, Dan also stopped over with more of Emily’s awesome oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  With all of this great food that everyone keeps hooking us up with, we’re getting way too spoiled.  It’s going to be difficult to readjust to eating Ramen on the road.  Well, maybe not, I love Ramen!!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drill Sargent Cousin Mike

  1. Robin Brennan says:

    Brett

    We have never met. I have been reading your blog since you started. My husband works at Ginna too…..Andy Brennan…..I&C. He told me about you.

    I too, am on permanent social security disability. I wanted to make sure you knew about The America the Beautiful – National Parks and Federal Recreational Lands Pass – Access Pass – Free. Here is the website. http://www.nps.gov/fees_passes.htm You get free admission to all of the National Parks. It doesn’t cost anything to obtain the pass. Andy and I have used it on many occasions…and in Alaska!!!! So make sure you get one!!!

    Also if you haven’t already……get a handicap parking pass for your car. Take advantage of parking close…..and use your strength and energy for more important things.

    Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers daily. I love reading about your trips….and can’t wait to read about Alaska. You will love it….It is so beautiful.

    Take Care
    Robin

    PS. Tell Shannon I can’t even think of Wegmans anymore without saying
    Wic..a ..wic..a ..Wegmans!!!!

  2. Cousin Mike says:

    Keep at it, Bret. Pretty soon your workouts will look like this:

    instead of this:

  3. Mauro says:

    Brett…

    Seriously?!? ‘Cuse being beat by Ohio State!??! Come on!!

    I’ve been following your travels and cannot be more inspired by you! Hope all is well! Best wishes from CT

  4. Rachel says:

    ROCK CHALK Jayhawk, GO KU!!! (we live verrrrry close to Lawrence KS… if you aren’t a Jayhawk fan, woe be unto you… secretly we Hook ’em! lol!) Happy to see your family is heading back west soon! Look forward to reading about it! Safe travels!

  5. Thomas says:

    ‘Cuse over the Heels?? That’ll be the day.

  6. Sharon says:

    Dear Bret

    I read about you in the Des Moines Register recently. I don’t even take the paper but ended up with your piece in some other things I was given. Your story touched me because I too have a rare cancer with no cure. I will be traveling to Mayo this week hoping to find a treatment that will gain me some time. I know there are no good choices. I will have to look at the options and try to figure out the best one. I am married and have 3 boys (22, 18, & 16). But I have peace because I have God. He helps me through each day and I know he will be with me and my family no matter what. I hope that you have this peace too. If you do not, I pray that you might come to know him. The best way to learn about God is to read in the Bible. He will touch your heart and your life. I check into your blog some. I’m glad you are able to do some special things with family and friends. Hope the asparagus works. I may have to look into that.

Leave a Reply

