So Much Food, So Little Time

Sunday morning, our family friends/neighbors, Gary and Dawn, stopped by to say hello and came loaded with a smorgasbord of Dawn’s awesome cooking.  It was like a surprise bonus apple picking day, the highlight of Fall…chile (for Shannon), chile con carne (for me), peanut clusters, and warm apple pie.  Wait, hold, not yet, all I wanted to do was tear into some chile con carne.  However, we already had another amazing lunch in the oven…

…Laurie and Velana’s delicious spanakopita.  As I was recovering in the hospital immediately after surgery, our nurse and friend Laurie was there to visit and comfort.  That’s when she offered to make her difficult spanakopita recipe.  This is the way to eat spinach, looks and tastes great, it was excellent!  The cheesy spinach covered with an amazing flaky crust.  Mom, Dad, Ryan, Makiko, Evan, Owen, Shannon, and I all enjoyed it before heading out for a Sunday cruise.

Our destination was Chimney Bluffs, some sand cliffs just to the east of Sodus Bay, although today it was all about the ride.  With a third kid on the way, Ryan and Makiko recently traded in Ryan’s Volkswagon Jetta for a Toyota Siena.  That’s right, a minivan!  A minivan with the style and comfort of a limosine…leather seats, tv monitors, and a seating capacity of 8.  The whole family loaded in and watched Bee Movie while Ryan chauffered us.  At the bluffs, it was a short walk to the beach, but the wind chill coming off the lake was unbearable as we got closer.  It was so cold, all but the bravest turned back.

Later on, after a good thaw and nap, Shannon and I headed next door to David and Laraine’s for dinner.  We walked in to raw ingredients, chicken, beef, shrimp, mushrooms, pepper, onion, peas, asparagus, cheese, all clustered around a grill on the kitchen table.  That’s because it was a raclette dinner, my first.  As we cooked and ate at the same time, they taught us that you have to be aggressive when you see what you want.  I kept my eye out for the pepperdew peppers and beef, an excellent combination.  I also made sure to take in plenty of asparagus.  Definitely a fun meal and night!  Thank you Gary, Dawn, Laurie, Velana, David and Laraine for so much great food!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So Much Food, So Little Time

  1. Aaron says:

    Wow! It’s only 8am and I am HUNGRY!!! That ALL looks amazing!!!

    So, were you among the bravest who made it to the beach?

  2. Johnny Z says:

    Bret I think I have gained at least 20 pounds since I started hanging out with you. Definitely going to probably maybe go on a diet after the Buffalo Style Chicken tonight. My mouth is watering already. Today is my fattest day.

  3. Dawn says:

    Hey Hoefens- I can’t tell you what a pleasure it was to see you guys. As you know we were off to do some “Man shopping” at Gander Mountain. Don’t tell Gary but after about 20 minutes or so I was wishing I was curled up on your couch listening to some of your stories. I really perked up when we went to the Outback for dinner.

    Have the best day folks,
    Love Dawn

  4. Dawn says:

    Oh, I forgot please tell me what grill that is that you can use it on the table. I love love love small appliances but I don’t know about this one. I can see myself grilling in the dinning room.
    D

Leave a Reply

