Formulating a Plan

With plans to return home for another surgery, we had to decide on two things, how do we get there, and when do we go?  It only seemed to make sense to me that we drive.  We’ve been hauling the trailer now for about four months which makes driving slower and more difficult, adds wear and tear on the car, and reduces our gas milage.  All worthwhile to ride the motorcycles through the most incredible terrain in the country, but my days of riding on two wheels are over.  Following surgery, we do plan to get back out on the road, but without the trailer.  Because my recovery time is unknown this seemed like the ideal time to land the “Nighthawk” back at home base.  Also, with Aaron flying out and Dad flying in on Thursday, it only made sense that we spend the remainder of the week in California with Aaron, then drive home with Mom and Dad.  I had really hoped to be able to ride my bike with Aaron one last time, but I was just in too much pain.  Fortunately it was raining so Aaron let me off the hook and blamed the rain.  Instead we all kicked back to the movie The Fighter and some fresh California artichokes.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Formulating a Plan

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    Bret,
    I know this pales in comparison, but I just had a crown put on (my top rear tooth cracked last night). Not sure if you’ve ever had dental work, but I always think of Bill Cosby’s stand up routine:

    So anyways, thinking of you got me through this experience. 🙂

    • Sally Leeson says:

      This video is a classic! It’s one of those laughing out loud while sitting all alone things. Probably everyone else has seen it but I had not. I’m going to play it every time I go to the dentist from here on out! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jessica says:

    Wow. I know this probably wasn’t intended as an overly emotional post, but your observation about “hauling the trailer…which makes driving slower and more difficult, adds wear and tear on the car, and reduces our gas milage” really struck me.

    First, it is downright funny that with all the crazy things going on in your life you are still thinking about gas mileage. Second, three days ago you were “wrestling” about what to do and here you are making a plan and moving on. I don’t have the words to tell you how cool, amazing, brave, practical, honest, open, humble (and accepting), yet superhuman, I think you are. You are truly awe inspiring; your ability to continue to be “Bret” and not let the cancer define you has me alternately laughing and crying almost every day… Your personality comes through so clearly in your posts – your willingness to share is truly a gift to the rest of us.

    Enjoy the rest of your time in CA. I hope we’ll get a chance to see you this time you are in town.

  3. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    I love. love , love artichokes! And I am so jealous that you are eating fresh ones – maybe you could load the trailer up with a few bushels of them to share with all of us when you come back. See if there are any avocadoes around too!

    We hate what is happening and that you are not able to ride along the coast. We know that God has a plan and we continue to pray for you daily.

    There is some amazing scenery if you come the northern route back… if the snow stops that is! Happy trails!

    Lots of love to all of you.

  4. Keith Collins says:

    Let me know when you are back in the area, we have a date with a cannon. And I have several shots all ready to go. We need to induct you into The Order of St. Barbara.

  5. Cousin Mike says:

    Better cheer for Ohio St & Kansas tonight–may be your only way to win the Auble family NCAA pool. I’ll update the brackets tomorrow morning and let you know where you stand.

  6. Cousin Geoffrey says:

    Sounds like a good plan! Merle Fest is April 28th – May 1st, so you’ve got a little over a month to make it to North Wilkesboro, North Carolina!

  7. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Hi Bret and Shan,
    I love Jessica’s words in her above post. She has nailed a perfect description of Bret Hoefen! We are all so proud of you Bret – in so many ways!

    I have a funny artichoke story to share – a little corny, but nonetheless, here goes. Several years ago we were invited to have dinner with good friends at their house. We arrived hungry and with no idea what our host was serving. After a couple glasses of wine and good conversation, we sat down to dinner and low and behold, we were served artichokes – fresh and whole as the main course. You’re probably licking your chops but we had a real dilemma! Now you probably know Uncle Lee is pretty much a meat and potatoes man and I’m more open to trying new things but we were faced with a real problem here – we didn’t know what to do with them! I had had artichokes as a dip, marinated and garnishing chicken dishes before but NEVER like this! Yikes – we both looked at each other in panic mode before the hosts sat down! Trying not to appear ignorant and so as not to offend our hosts, I waited to see what they did – stalling, eating dinner rolls and taking sips of wine and water,
    keeping the conversation moving and fiddling with the napkin in my lap! I think Uncle Lee excused himself to use the bathroom to stall for time! Anyway, we finally figured out how to take the leaves off to get to the heart but I remember how prickly the leaves were when I tried to eat them and thinking how are we ever going to get through this meal?!!!! That’s all I remember about the evening except spitting some of the prickly leaves into my napkin when no one was looking and Uncle Lee leaving hungry and making me promise I would never serve them! That’s the only time I ever had artichokes served whole but I love them on chicken, pizza, as an appetizer and in dips etc.! Uncle Lee remains true to his meat and potatoes!

    Wanted to ask you guys if you have heard of the movie “Soul Surfer” due to come out April 8th. in theaters? You can probably see the movie trailer on the internet. It’s been advertised on tv and is the true story of Bethany Hamilton who lost her arm in a shark attack. It’s an inspirational film about overcoming obstacles,(maybe similar to 127 hours ) and thought it was interesting that it’s coming out now just as you are dealing with your leg. Just wanted to pass it along in case you might want to see it for the positive inspiration.

    Sorry you didn’t get to ride with Aaron but maybe it was raining for a reason since your leg was so painful. I can’t think of a better way to spend a rainy day than with family, watching a good movie and eating those wonderful fresh artichokes! I think I would have opted for a big bowl of popcorn or some Reese’s peanut butter cups though! Thinking of you all lots and wishing you a comfortable, safe and picturesque trip as you ride home in a good direction.

    Love you,
    Aunt Sharon

  8. Laurie Dixon says:

    Home is always a good direction.

    I have a special recipe that I’m going to make for you when you get back. It does not contain artichokes or asparagus.

    WARNING: May contain peanuts.

  9. Cousin Mike says:

    By the way, Bret: you have held on to 1st place in the Auble family pool, but I’m gaining on you fast. Cheer for Kansas and against UNC (which should be easy for you), cuz if the tarheels win I’ll pass you.
    Bret 62 pts
    Mike 59
    Matty 52
    Karmen 51 (oh boy–that’s too close. Gonna be a rough weekend, sibling rivalry here we come)
    Lynn 47 (that’s what you get when you pick by team colors and where you’d rather vacation)

  10. Cousin Mike says:

    Weird Karma… I just saw a commercial about a woman who lost her leg serving our country and is now a champion swimmer.
    Did you see any of the Butler/Florida game? Crazy! Aaron, sorry about FSU! Weird how VCU has taken out the Hoefen alma maters! 1st G’Town, now FSU. Sorry to bring that up Uncle Jim & Ryan! So Bret, is it a good thing that NC State wasn’t even IN the tourney?

Leave a Reply

