Audrey 0.0

After a three-day whirlwind cross country trip, we arrived home this afternoon at 1 PM.  We left California at about the same time this past Thursday, and other than a short 6 hr overnight stay in Lake Tahoe we drove around the clock.  For a three-day trip, it was very eventful, but the climax occurred this morning at 4 AM when my brother Ryan sent a picture of our new niece, Audrey Bree Mizuki Hoefen.  We knew Makiko had gone into the hospital last night and were thinking about her all night, so we were relieved to learn that both she and Audrey were doing well this morning.  So the stats, Audrey was born at 3:30 AM and weighs 6 lbs 10 oz.  Welcome to the family Audrey 0.0, can’t wait to meet you tomorrow!  Your Dad tells me that your middle name, Bree, is a derivative of Bret, so I’m honored that you’ll be carrying my name.  You’re off to a great start in life, you have one amazing family, and two great older bros who are going to look out for you just like mine have done for me!

Ryan has promised to publish more photos of Audrey soon on their own blog (www.ryanandmakiko.com).  Mike, he has also re-enabled comments, but I hope that doesn’t really mean I’m going to lose you; your work is far from done.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Audrey 0.0

  1. Dawn says:

    We are very happy you are home and ready to take care of business. You surprized us and it was a good surprize. All home safe and Audrey here to give you all a lift and good energy. Jeff told me he was lucky to see you were home and had a short but nice visit.
    Please let us know if we can help in anyway. Remember we are just up the road and be there in a New York minute. Bets and Jim, Shann and Bret we are sending everything we have to you right now. Congrats Ryan and Makiko and family.
    Love Gary and Dawn

  2. Cousin Geoffrey says:

    Hey guys – I’m so glad you got home safely! And your split time has to be some kind of record! Sorry to stop in so soon after arriving home, but I couldn’t not stop when I saw the x-country in the driveway. Actually, I’ve been camped outside your house since I heard you were coming home. I wanted to make sure and secure the title of ‘First Visitor’.

    Congratulations Ryan, Makiko, and family!!!! Audrey is gorgeous!

  3. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Congratulations!!!!! Audrey is gorgeous! Looks just like you Makiko!!! WE cant wait to meet her! Simona wants to play with her! 🙂

  4. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Congratulations to all – we are so excited to hear that little Audrey has arrived! Ryan and Makiko – she is so beautiful! CONGRATULATIONS! So happy for you and for the Grandmas and Grandpas and her Aunts and Uncles! And for her wonderful big brothers too! They are going to have so much fun with her and be so protective as they grow together. We can’t wait to meet her in person and help spoil our new great-niece!
    WOW – you guys have all had quite the whirlwind journey and we’re glad you’re home safely. We noticed that nothing had been written on the blog in a couple days and were hoping all was well and thought maybe you were pushing to get home. Bret, we hope you are doing okay and you all can get a little rest. We’ll be in touch to check in, but in the meantime, sending all our love and thoughts your way.
    Love,
    (Great) Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon

  5. Jim & Donna Burkhardt says:

    Hi Bret,
    Jim and I were on the same plane with your Dad on Wednesday. We were glad to see he made it out of JFK to meet up with you all. You know that you all have been in our prayers. You have an excellent support team. you are in our thoughts the entire way! Your blogs are so insightful and make me smile to know you all! Love to All!!
    PS. Congrats to Ryan & Makiko “baby Audrey…adorable!!!”

  6. Marianne Borrelli says:

    Welcome home again! Glad you made it safely. Did you bring some warm California sunshine home with you? Wishing you the best

    Congrats Ryan, Makiko, Evan and Owen. You have a beautiful young family!

  7. Cousin Mike says:

    Dear Bret,
    I’m sorry to say that this will be my last comment. It’s just not working out. It’s not you, it’s me. 1st, I teach Johnny how to imbed videos in his comments, but now others are also doing it–leaving my blogging skills totally un-unique.
    I also get about 10 emails a day from people who don’t get my sense of humor (there must be more than that!) saying that I should be nicer to you. Obviously they don’t understand our tumultuous past… but I may have been misrepresented. Nah, I really am that bad.
    From now on you and my fans (the 3 guys whose emails keep going to my spam folder for some reason with the subject line “enhance your size”–by the way, no thanks guys, I’m trying to LOSE weight) can follow me at http://ryanandmakiko.com/blog/index.php?post=717#comments

  8. Diane Bergvall says:

    You all have been in my thoughts and prayers as you’ve been traveling cross country at this time of the year. I was hoping that you were on the road and not able to add to your blog! So glad to hear that you had a safe trip. What great timing that you arrived home just in time to meet little Audrey. Congratulations to everyone! What a blessing she will be. Keep strong!!

  9. Daniel says:

    お祝いの一族Hoefen
    Audrey Bree Mizuki is both an auspicious and adorable name! I personally take delight in the fact that she is born in a rabbit year (as am I) and her poppa as well I believe. We rabbits look out for one another. Congrats on your lovely little girl!

  10. David and Laraine says:

    Hi Bret and Shannon!
    We thought we were seeing things when we saw you backing up the trailer yesterday! That must have been one LONG drive home!!!! Glad to see you made it safe and sound. Rest well now and let us know if you need anything at all!
    And… welcome to the world, little Audrey!! You are blessed to have such a wonderful family– enjoy the RIDE!!! 🙂
    Love to all,
    David and Laraine

  11. Mary Beer says:

    Bret and Shannon,
    Sorry your trip was cut short but so glad you are safely home. You must be exhausted! Congrats on a beautiful addition to the Hoefen family…what a lucky little soul to join your clan.
    I hope your surgery is a great success in relieving your pain so you can get back on the road. I hope that while you’re home we might be able to get together….I’ll try and coordinate….I know mom (Aunt Tish) would love to see you. Prayers continue for pain free days and that each day is your best day ever!
    Mary

  12. Timpla says:

    Send our congratulations to Ryan and Makiko. What a beautiful addition to the Hoefen family!

    Love.
    Porter and Timpla

Leave a Reply

