Status Update

So I promised Bret that I would give a blog update…you know him, he doesn’t want to miss a day.  The surgery went well and Bret is feeling good and comfortable, especially with the IV pain medications helping reduce his pain.  However, the meds leave him groggy and tired so he will give the full story of his surgery in the coming day or so.  Thank you for all your support and prayers — they mean so much!
~Shannon

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Status Update

  1. Carol burke says:

    Thank you so very much for giving an update. Was keeping you both in my thoughts, heart and prayers. Let the healing begin!

  2. Brea says:

    I have been thinking about you guys all day. Wishing Bret a quick recovery!

  3. Sherri Kennedy says:

    Shannon –
    Thank you for this update. I’ve been checking it all evening and stayed up late hoping to see just this. Thank God that’s behind him (and you). Now, let’s get the healing started.

    Can’t wait to read Bret’s ‘version’ of this adventure today. Take care and try and get some rest.
    Sherri

  4. Aaron says:

    We were thinking of you both all day! I was so happy to get multiple updates from mom during the day! Thanks mom!

    Can’t wait to hear from you directly Bret! See you in Alaska in a week?

  5. Don House says:

    Our prayers and thoughts are with you!

  6. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Shanny,
    You’re such a sweetheart for posting an update after such a long day. You two look so WONDERFUL in the above picture, I could just hug you both! And yes, most certainly understandably after all he’s been through today, Bret looks groggy, but pretty darn wonderful! And you my dear, you are amazing as always, bless your heart. We are so thankful that Bret has you by his side. Your precious love and strength keep that smile on his face and hope in his heart.
    We were so relieved to get the call from Bets that the surgery was over and Bret was doing well. I had tried to post a message this morning and tried four times to send it but for some reason, it would not go. I know you knew we were thinking of you every minute and sending you lots of love and prayers.
    That special phone call from Steve yesterday was a wonderful reminder that angels do walk amongst us and that sometimes God sends them at just the right time in our lives. We have no doubt that you and Bret are being watched over, guided and strengthened every step of the way as you go through all this. Like Steve, Bret will adapt and become even stronger and more resilient. Bret, today is just the start of many of your best days. Great things await you and will be accomplished! As someone else already said – “now let the healing begin”! Look out Alaska, the Hoefenators are coming!
    Hope you can both get some rest tonight despite all the hospital interruptions. We’ll be checking on you daily and praying for that speedy recovery.
    All our love to you all,
    Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon

  7. Ernie T. says:

    It’s been a long time since I last commented, but I’ve been diligently following this blog and thinking of you both every day. I’m looking forward to reading about your trip to Alaska so have a speedy recovery. You’ll be in my prayers.

  8. Ashley says:

    Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for giving us an update – I’ve been thinking about you two all day. I am elated to hear that the surgery went well and that Bret is resting.

  9. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    Thank you for the posting Shannon! So glad to have the photo and note from Betsy too – what a day for all of you – and on to the recovery. We are praying for all of you. You are all amazing!

  10. Dani Solberg says:

    I am glad to hear everything went well. Bret-Anytime you want to talk let me know I am here for you! Tomorrow (today since its 2am) marks the exact day I found out I had cancer after they removed my tumor a year ago. On the 15th is when I had my amputation. I only had a week to prepare and it was NOT easy. I am so happy you have an amazing support team like I had. It is NOT easy and you will go through a lot of different emotions. Dont hold anything in. Having a blog is great to get out what you are feeling so i hope you continue to use it! Recovery is hard (at least for me), but you just have to take it min by min and then day by day. it does get easier! I am very independent but still have a few things I need help with. I am hoping this surgery is the answer you needed to destroy CCS and all of the pain. You all are in my thoughts. TAKE it easy and email me anytime if you want someone to just vent to. Rest up!

  11. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Nice job Shan! Thanks for the update. My mom had called us as soon as she had news but of course we wanted to hear directly from the blog!
    Thinking of you guys!!!

  12. Mom says:

    Bret,
    You amazed me yet again.I knew you were strong and would meet this challenge, but I was totally unprepared for your sense of humor to kick in so quickly after surgery. You scored some great one-liners while still half-awake.
    I am so grateful to Aimee Bergvall for connecting you with Stephen Fangio. He obviously inspired you….and all of us. Aimee, you are awesome as always…get that show on the air! Who do we write to to plead our case?
    Bret, may today be your best day….
    I love you.

  13. Ray Ferran says:

    Shannon
    Thanks for the update. I hope you’re doing well.
    I can see through daily pictures, you’ve also been amazing through this. One of Brets great acheivments was finding you (or did you find him?) Anyway…
    Wishing you both my best. hope to see the Volvo( aka The Starship Enterprise) on the road again.

  14. Ray and Audrey Horan says:

    We join the masses who are rooting for you. We are so pleased that the surgery went well and our prayers are for a speedy recovery allowing you to get on the road again. Thank you, Shannon, for the update. You both were in our thoughts and prayers yesterday.

    Audrey and Ray Horan

  15. Scott Reed says:

    Bret,
    From one of the many at Ginna… You are in my thoughts and prayers and I wish you a speedy recovery friend!

  16. Uncle Kevin & Aunt Judy says:

    So glad to see you both yesterday–what an unexpected treat when you were up for a visit so soon after your surgery. You probably won’t even remember seeing me, Bret, but it gave me so much joy to see you still smiling and looking so good. As always, YOU are the one helping US through this! Our prayers are for a speedy, pain-free recovery.
    Love you all so much, UK & AJ

  17. Carolina DeHond says:

    Dear Hoefen Family!

    Thank you for posting Bret’s update, Shannon! We checked your site throughout the whole day yesterday.. relieved to hear you are resting comfortably, thanks to those meds 😉 You will remain in our thoughts and prayers! Please let us know how we can help!!

    Take care!! All our best,
    Craig and Carolina

  18. Daniel says:

    ALASKA! It just got one day closer Bret. Now that you’re sporting a Wolverinesque beard I pray that you are now endowed with his healing factor too. In the meantime I hope you are comfortable and get plenty of rest. I hope that your entire family can get some rest too cause there is plenty of road out there.

  19. Anthony D. says:

    Up until now I didn’t know the definition of perseverance could be captured in a picture.

  20. Judy Lynd says:

    Thanks for the update Shannon….our thoughts are with you all.

  21. Yvonne M Sellers says:

    I add my prayers to all the others for a quick recovery for you Bret. And Shannon.. Strength for you also. I am a daily reader who has been swept up in your story. Thank you for sharing, for the update and entertaining views on just about everything.
    We all wish for you a long and wonderful future Ride.
    Will keep you in our thoughts & prayers.

    Yvonne M Sellers

  22. Valerie Frischmann says:

    Thank you for letting us know how Bret is doing. I am so glad that the surgery went well. Bret has a strong character and a good attitude which will help him get through his recovery. My thoughts and prayers are with both of you and your family.

  23. Ellen Edmond says:

    Brett & Shannon,
    Two pillars of strength, love and positive thinking. Spring is time for new beginnings and growth, and though your journey is difficult (to say the least!), your spirit will carry you through. To many, many more rides…always in the right direction!
    Dan and Ellen

  24. Michelle Wolfanger says:

    Extremely happy to hear the surgery went well and wishing you a speedy recovery!

  25. jessica parker says:

    Hey Bret we have been thinking and praying for you. So glad you are feeling ok praying that will continue. We are currently back up on the 4th floor at strong with Havwn for at least the week. So we r just floors apart and we are praying often for you for Gods healing touch and peace

  26. Fran and Murph says:

    Bret and Shannon,

    We have been with you in thoughts and prayers as you continue on your journey. I am glad Friday went well and you will be recovering surrounded with family and friends.

    Love, Fran and Murph

  27. Timpla says:

    Bret and Shan-

    We are thinking of you every day. Stay strong and brave. I know you will.
    Hope we can see you guys soon!

    All our love and positive energy,

    Timpla and Porter

  28. Danielle P. West-Chuhta says:

    Bret:

    I am glad that the surgery went well and that you are recovering. You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Danielle

  29. Nanette Hance says:

    Thanks Shannon for your update regarding Bret’s surgery. Please know that my thoughts, prayers, hugs and kisses continue to come your way. It is both of your
    positive attitudes, your family and wide circle of friends that will see you through this time of challenge and adjustment. For now, take one day at a time and look forward to the next, each being a little better than the one before. God bless … Love, Nan

  30. Chad, Christie, Landen and Miles says:

    You two ROCK!!! Your will and strength amazes the rest of us…
    Always sending you positive energy…

  31. nanci bogan says:

    I hope everything is going ok for Bret! I have been reading the blog for a while, although can’t remember how I actually found it (maybe the d&c or rnews?). I look forward to updates, and just hope that Bret is healing well after his surgery. love, nanci

  32. Dawn DeBadts says:

    Hi Guys,
    I must share this- I went back to my home town Sackets Harbor to visit a friend who came up from florida to visit her 93 yer old mom in the nursing home. He brother is 3 years out from a Soft Cell Sarcoma in his leg- cancer free. My other best friend who we were with is a 12 year survivor of a double mastectomy. I also had the pleasure of spending time with my 32 yer old niece who had a Glioblastoma (brain cancer) removed in December. She is tumor free at this time, too. And now you! This is my best day.
    Love Dawn

  33. Carly Szabo says:

    Glad to hear everything went well! I’ve been thinking about it non-stop and am so very thankful to you Shannon for posting an update.

  34. Nichole Steinhart-Billingsley says:

    I am happy that surgery went well. I know it is still a long road ahead for the two of you, but stay positive even at the darkest times. You have such an amazing story, that will help many overcome this horrible “Cancer”. You have a great support line. My prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

