Stepping Out for Fresh Air

Coming off of a difficult day, but feeling much better, I was ready to push myself to the next level Thurday.  Physical therapy came by in the early afternoon and my plan was to start walking with my crutches.  And Lindsey, my new therapist, was on board.  Before starting, I of course took some morphine pills just to ease some of the pain.  After several trips back and forth to the bathroom the previous day, standing was no longer an issue.  From there, it was just a matter of getting used to the crutches now that I have a different center of mass.  This came fairly easy so I made my way out to the hallway and cruised around a bit.  Ready for the ultimate test of balance, I lifted my crutches and balanced on my one leg, but Lindsey wasn’t ready to give me that much freedom and quickly held my hips to eliminate any possibility of falling.  After a short stroll I returned to the room for the day.

Later on, Marcia from Palliative Care returned to follow up on my new pain management plan that I started yesterday using morphine.  The plan used a slow release morphine pill as a base taken a few times a day, and an instant release morphine pill that could be taken hourly as needed for break through pain.  Initially, the plan seemed to be working great, but after only one day I felt as though I needed the breakthrough pill too frequently and was still had trouble keeping up with my pain.  That’s when Marcia strongly recommended switching to Methadone.  Knowing very little about any of the drugs, I took her recommendation and started a new plan consisting of methadone three times each day and instant release morphine available hourly until the methadone is in my system.

Today was a great day walking on the crutches; I’m feeling real strong and quickly adjusting to all of the new feelings associated with being on one leg.  Grandma, like I promised you during our visit, I’m going to be okay!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stepping Out for Fresh Air

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    Thanks to Emily T for posting this at a time when I thought only I was awake:
    http://www.amputee-coalition.org/inmotion/may_jun_06/motorcycle.html
    I’ve “re-posted” the link so it will be seen more quickly.
    I like the subtitle of the article:
    How to Ride a Motorcycle With Parts Missing (on you, not the bike)
    Adaptive Modifications for Amputee Motorcycling

  2. Kate (Lawrence) Burkhard says:

    Glad a difficult day was followed up by a better day! Hopefully your new pain regimen is effective and keeps you comfortable. Won’t be long before you are able to step out in the sunshine for some fresh air!!

  3. wendy kruse says:

    I’m so happy for you!! Love the picture of you standing alone! You are doing amazing!!!

  4. Carol burke says:

    I am so proud of your determination and drive. Go gettam!

  5. Lauren Baker says:

    Hi Brett-
    You work with my husband Tom and he introduced me to you briefly at my friend and your cousin Jessica Gilbert’s wedding last May. I just wanted to say that you are doing amazing and you are standing a lot taller and stronger from your previous picture of when you first walked into the hospital! You are an inspiration to so many people. Are you on 5-1200 at Strong? If so, I had the privelage of being there during clinical and to watch the progression of the patients was absolutely incredible. We wish you nothing but the best!! ~Tom and Lauren Baker

  6. Daniel says:

    Hey Bret,
    You mentioned earlier in a former post that you had no current occupation, I disagree wholeheartedly. It is freaking AMAZING to see how hard you’ve worked on your recovery despite temporary set-backs. You are a harder worker than anybody I know right now and have an incredible outlook.

    Also, I’m not sure if anyone has mentioned, but that vivid red ped (sock) is quite becoming!
    🙂

  7. stacy eck says:

    Your are one of the most remarkable people i have ever seen with your strength and the fight that you have in you. You have been through a lot and are making your life better day by day for your family. Don’t ever lose that fight you have in you. From personnal experience do not ever let anyone tear you down despite your disability, I dont anymore, and you never should. We are the way we are for a reason. Be happy with who you are and happy with your life, its your life and noone elses!!! Your still the same strong person i remember from school, dont ever change that!!!

Leave a Reply

