Home, Where the Real Healing Starts

By Sunday morning, I started to feel the itch to get home.  I would miss 6 AM mornings with my new resident friend Caleb, but I was ready to go.  The only obstacle left was getting physical therapy to sign me off on stairs.  When the therapist came around, I jumped on my crutches and headed for the stairwell.  That’s when he slowed me down and pointed me toward an indirect route, testing my walking skills a bit first; he wasn’t going to make this easy for me.  By the time we got there, again I climbed two flights quickly with no difficulty.  But coming down I played it safe and used an easier technique; two crutches under one arm, and the railing in the other.  They can’t keep a one legged man down, I was free to go home!

After checking out of the hotel, I mean hospital, Mom and Shannon loaded the car and wheeled me down.  I was anxious to get home, but hadn’t seen my Granda Hoefen in weeks, so I requested that we stop there first.  As we talked with Grandma, I was shocked to hear she hadn’t driven her car in over four weeks and that she wasn’t sure she was comfortable driving anymore…sounded like the perfect time for a Sunday cruise.  With a slight push we had grandma chauffeuring us around the city, but where to?  Where better than Aunt Bo and Uncle Mark’s.  With little forewarning, the party was at the Greisberger’s.

We had a great visit, and Shannon and I were ready to get home.  As soon as we walked through the front door, I instantly felt better.  Although the hospital food was surprisingly good, I was looking forward to something different.  With Mom and Dad over, we ordered subs and had a picnic in our living room.  After days of constant interruptions and minimal rest, I couldn’t wait for a solid night of sleep next to Shannon.

I also wanted to share a video that Carolina DeHond, a CCS Friend, and her husband Craig created to raise awareness of Clear Cell Sarcoma and Carolina’s Fight.  Inspired by “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus, they set the video to this song.  Carolina says “it is an inspiration to keep fighting harder!!”  Miley Cyrus came across the video and requested that it be posted on her outreach blog Get UR Good On.  For now, be sure and check their video, Carolina’s Fight, out on YouTube.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Home, Where the Real Healing Starts

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    That was a really cool video! Great job and good luck Carolina!
    Bret, it’s great to see you home again–YAYYYY!!!!
    This surgery has been a bump in the road, but you are resiliant and ready to continue your “climb”.
    PS–yeah, I’m back to being up at 4am again. It must have something with Karmen’s track meets about to start… I dunno? Thank goodness for your blog to entertain me in the early morning hours!

  2. Aaron says:

    Welch home Bret! Great to see you out of the hospital rags and back in your own threads and surroundings! You are looking great!

    For the rest of the world, I just posted a ONE TIME OPPORTUNITY to OWN a share of the adventure!!! For sale is a 2004 Ducati 800 Monster. This is one of Bret’s two bikes that started the adventure. This Ducati made the Rochester to Orlando segment of the Ride in a Good Direction.

    If you know anybody that is interested, please forward the Craigslist link below. The bike is currently located just outside of Orlando, FL.

    http://orlando.craigslist.org/mcy/2319631037.html

    • Aaron says:

      And I see the benefit of proof reading before posting comments. Mostly when posting from an iPhone at 5:00 in the morning….

      That is “WELCOME HOME BRET!”, not “Welch home!”

  3. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Welcome home Bret! There is no place like it!

  4. Sherri Kennedy says:

    Woo Hoo!! Dorothy had it right….there is no place like home. Amazing how the warmth and smell of your own home can soothe your soul.

    Bret – You are amazing. The mental and physical strength you have is awesome. I loved the video of your ice cream adventure although you made me really nervous on the picnic table!

    I’m glad you got to see your Grandma and got her out of the house. You could shame all of us into doing things we haven’t done in awhile..or should be doing.

    Take it one day at a time and start to plan your next adventure. Just like your therapist said “You are good to go.” so ride on…..

    Sherri

  5. Sally Leeson says:

    Bret………..what a great grandson you are! Grandmothers everywhere will tear up when they read today’s blog.

  6. Crissy Kid says:

    Like in the Wizard of Oz…………..”there’s no place like home” 🙂

    ((((HUGS))))

  7. David and Laraine says:

    SO glad to see the lights on next door!!!
    Welcome HOME!!!!
    Love, David and Laraine

  8. Stacy Matz says:

    Welcome home !!! ❤

  9. Laurie Sherner says:

    Yup, THIS GRANDMA “teared up” bit time! Again, I also cheered out loud, startled my dog, too! Enjoy your lovely wife and your home and in no time you’ll be touring Alaska! Godspeed, Bret!

  10. Laurie Sherner says:

    Sorry, I meant “big time”, not bit!

  11. Dan & Lin Dean says:

    Bret, Shannon, welcome home !!! You guys are amazing !!! We’ll see you soon 🙂 🙂

  12. Florence Hamilton says:

    Bret, you are doing great, and I bet it is good to be back in your home and your own bed! You are such a strong determined person–an inspiration to anyone! I know Shannon and the rest of your family are a big part of your journey. Good luck on your next venture.

  13. Carolina DeHond says:

    WELCOME HOME Bret!! You are truly the Inspiration!! The tears were flowing once I saw your picture of you holding Shannon in your arms~ True Love!! I also cried when I read what joy you brought to your Grandma 🙂 The elderly have a special place in my heart and what you did for her is PRICELESS- more priceless is that you did it straight after your hospital stay!! You guys are such a great couple!!

    We are honored, you have posted my video on your blog! THANK YOU!! Hope we get some doctor’s help to find a Cure for us, someday soon!!

    You take your adventures to new heights!!
    Love, Carolina and Craig

    • Christine says:

      Love the video. Thanks for sharing. We’re looking forward to the day when both Bret and Carolina are cancer free!

  14. Debbie says:

    Welcome home Bret and Shannon!

    That picture of you two hugging? Well, that just says it all, doesn’t it?
    Home–no more hospital food, no more tubes, monitors and beeping noises. No more gowns with the embarrassing gap. Just to be home and sleeping in your own bed.

    I hope that spring has sprung in Pultneyville and the sun is shining down on the both of you in a warm embrace. Rest. Eat. Pray. Love. It’s as simple as that right now.

    I love you both so much!!!

    Sissy

  15. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    So glad to hear that you are home! Celebrating with you!

  16. Pam Hirst says:

    Hi, Bret and Shannon!

    Not sure you will know who I or we are (Milt and Pam Hirst – Denver, CO), but we ran in honor of your life and your inspiring journey down an unchosen path when your friend HP (Heather Patrick) asked us to. We are heartbound to you as we have participated in celebrating your life, follow your blog, and pray for you to our Amazing God, for His touch upon both of you. Praying for daily strength and encouragement in all. Just want you to know we are praying you on. Our hearts are connected to you now as we have joined in caring about you. Thank-you for sharing your story! You are blessing us and many, I am sure. Thank-you!

  17. Larry M says:

    Glad you are back home!

  18. JoEllen Fahy Schubmehl says:

    Hi Bret! While heading out to pick up sushi last night, I accidentally tuned my XM radio to the Doc channel. They were discussing support groups for people battling cancer. I listened for a bit and the psycho-oncologist (I had no idea such a title existed) recommended a book “Man’s Search For Meaning”. This book was written by a Holocaust survivor who was involved deeply in the field of psychology. From what i have learned thus far, his philosophy appears to mirror your own…finding meaning in suffering and using positive attitudes to overcome great adversity. The doctor leading the discussion has also written a book called “The House On Crash Corner” dealing with her own battle with cancer. I’m going to read the former, and perhaps the latter. If you have read it, I would love to hear your thoughts!

    So glad you are home!!!

Leave a Reply

