A Healthier Focus

Shannon and I counted 57 staples from my hip disarticulation.  They create an obstacle each morning as I get dressed, so when my follow-up appointment with Dr Mitten rolled around Wednesday morning, I was anxious to get them removed.  But they weren’t ready to come out this week; Dr Mitten stressed that he didn’t want the incision to split open as with my previous surgery.  The thought of such a blowout reoccurring easily convinced me that waiting was the right thing to do.

Toward the end of the appointment, Dr. Mitten casually recommended a healthy diet, especially following surgery with a low blood count and having cancer.  I’m sure he didn’t foresee the lengthy discussion that this would trigger as Shannon and I have long debated this topic.  Up to this point, I had always had the attitude that my diet is not what caused my cancer nor what would it cure it, and was told by several doctors to continue eating the foods that made me happy.  By the end of our discussion with Dr Mitten, we both were convinced that eating a healthy diet just might improve my chances of fighting this cancer.  However, this will be difficult to maintain from the road??

I guess Burger King is out for lunch?  According to Dr Mitten, Chipotle uses very fresh ingredients in addition to free range chicken, so it sounded like a great way to kick off our new diet.  I ordered their burito bowl which was just alright, definitely no cheeseburger –man this is going to be tough!  We got home just in time to catch up with Ron, a very close friend of the family.  It was really great to see him and reminisce on some good old days; I shared these photos I had of him water skiing wearing a moose head. Sorry, barely visible from the old-school, low-resolution scanned photo, but a great memory.

All day Wednesday we were on pins and needles waiting to hear whether or not our friend Dan passed his Senior Reactor Operator license exam for operations at R. E. Ginna Nuclear Power Plant.  I can attest that this is an extremely difficult day as a result of a long cumulative exam covering two years worth of intense material.  We were thrilled when we finally received a text message at about 4 PM with the word that Dan passed.  Congratulations Dan, we’re so excited for you!!

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Healthier Focus

  1. Dan's Wife says:

    A healthy diet will definitely be a good change for your little sugar momma (a.k.a. diabetic wife) as well as for you!

    Thanks for the shout-out to Dan! Very proud of him!!! GO DANNO!!!! 😀

    – A Happy Dan’s Wife

  2. Aaron says:

    So much for Jeff’s plan to help get you back up to your fighting weight! Does beer count for the grain food group and wine for the fruits? So, is the plan to eat healthier options, or focusing on organic? Good luck Yelping for Vegan through the heartland!!! Also, it seems like nuts & berries will be tough to live on for a year in a bus in the frontiers of Alaska!

    Don’t eat the seeds of the Eskimo Potato!!!

  3. Cousin Michelle says:

    Healthier living is the way to go! Veggies are good and there are plenty on the road! I may not be the hard core traveler you have become but my years of travels suited me and I could find food being Vegetarian/Vegan at times no problem. Look for Whole Foods on the road and stock up!!

  4. jean loughran says:

    I was wondering what a leg weighs but was too polite to ask. It will be easier to eat healthy as we get into nice weather, fresh strawberries in June, tomatoes start in early July. You’ll just have to learn to eat girl food.

  5. Scott says:

    Hello Gang,

    As part of my Graduate School Degree in Computer Information Systems/Network Security/Signals Intelligence, I have been required to take a class in Cellular Level Nutrition for the Body. My recent discussion post is as follows:

    “Our bodies are pretty amazing in regards to curing diseases. When fighting infections and such, our anti-bodies try different combinations of patterns to attach themselves and cure the disease. It is amazing that as soon as one connection is made, all anti-bodies in our immune system automatically and instantaneously learn the “code.”

    Therefore, it is always possible to beat a disease, as long as our body is as healthy as possible. By keeping our immune system at full strength, we increase our chances of staying disease free through a Rocky-style mentality of keeping fit.”

    Now, this is by no means a medical report, just simply a reconcilliation of things I have read in research. I do believe that our bodies are capable of amazing feats, when allowed too. I came very close to losing my leg to amputation when I was in 2nd grade (a bad case of the flesh-eating bacteria, Staphylococcus Aureus), and the idea of amputation came up… I don’t know why the Dr. chose to talk to my Mom in front of me at such a young age, but I asked where my leg would go, and if I could see it afterwards… both questions received answers that I can’t remember.

    And now for my confession. As part of my work out (trying to lose about 50 pounds), I started doing Bret Hoefen inspired plyometrics… these involve hopping up and down my stair case, 1 leg at a time. I have to admit, I have an easier time going down than up!

    Keep up the good fight, I saw a trike today (the kind with 2 wheels on the front and 1 in the back) and it looked bad-ass… keep it in mind! Thanks for sharing!

    -Scott

  6. Cousin Mike says:

    Hmmmm….. if only someone else had tried to encourage you to eat healthier (Wait for it). Or if someone else had tried to encourage you to exercise more (wait for it). If only there was a guy in your life who wanted to see you lose some weight, exercise more, eat better and have more energy (wait for it).
    Well, if there was, I’m sure he’d be gloating and throw out a big “I TOLD YA SO”. Lucky for you, Bret, there is no one around here (or in Warsaw with a PV facility in his backyard) who matches that description.
    After struggling for over a year or so with the gluten free limitations, I have finally gotten my diet under control. It requires more planning (and more discipline). But “you are what you eat” and if you look at it as “food provides my fuel”–what kind of gas do you want to put in the tank? I’ve already lost 15 + pounds since Xmas and I feel and look better. More consistent exercise helps too. I jog every weekend, then “casually exercise” with my PE classes during the week. On spring break this week, I look forward to really working out each day we have off.
    You’ve been a major source of inspiration to me, Bret. I ballooned to 223 ish. When I think about you, “diet discipline” and getting out on the road to exercise seem easier. Now I’m down to 205–my goal is to be under 200lbs by this summer, but I think I’ll hit that sooner and may actually keep going towards 190 (look out girls, summer just got sweeter–no more fat kid swimming with his shirt on). Another big reason, I want to be there for my kids, and someday my grandkids.
    Sorry, I know this blog isn’t about me, but what I’m trying to convey is that you can still have fun (and be healthy 🙂 ) I don’t know what the future holds for any of us, but a stronger, healthier body will surely help us face it!
    Love you cuz!!!

  7. Marsha DeNee says:

    It sounds like Cousin Mike and Scott have given you good info. I would like to add one important step…start your day with a cup of cold or warm lemon water. It helps flush toxins from your body. 🙂

Leave a Reply

