With Papers Flying

Monday morning my fatigue came to a head when I woke up with a sore back and achy joints across my entire body.  I felt like I had been hit by a car.  From the joints in pain, it seemed as though it was from the cumulative strain of using crutches and operating on one leg.  Or, maybe I just came down with a bug?  Fortunately, with morphine and ibuprofen in addition to my normal regiment, I was able to keep functioning.  So, our first order of business was to come up with a list of things that we would like to complete before leaving on the next “leg” of our road trip.  But to keep our eye on the ball we  established a tentative departure date of May 8th, and anything that doesn’t get done by then will just have to wait until we return.  That’s baring a few crucial items like getting my drivers license updated for restrictions, and getting my new Side Stix crutches.  Working on our list, we posted Shan’s Kia on Craigslist.  I’ve always liked the idea of being a single car household and living the simple life.

That afternoon with Johnny Z at the house visiting, we received our first call.  It was while we were getting ready to show the car that we realized that the title got lost in the jumble of our last road trip.  While we panicked and scurried to find it, John had the misfortune of witnessing us in desperation mode.  As this prospective buyer took the car on an abnormally long test ride, we continued to turn the house upside down looking for the title.  With every pile of papers rifled, the guy returned without even making an offer.  I guess he was just out for a joy ride?   As the dust settled, we were finally able to laugh at the chain of events over a bowl of Laurie’s incredible Thai Peanut Chicken Soup.  This soup must have therapeutic qualities.

We spent the rest of the day continuing to work through our to-do list, going so far as to make a drive from Pultneyville to our rental house in the city at 9 PM in order to perform a few errands.  We didn’t get home until pretty late, but made a good dent in our list.  By the end of the day, I was feeling much better.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to With Papers Flying

  1. ginger johannes says:

    glad you are feeling better. I cant wait for the Alaska adventure to begin!!

  2. Mom says:

    So…did you find the title?

  3. Carol burke says:

    I wanted to know the same thing Mom…….Did you find the title?!

  4. Don says:

    Bret I know it was ok to give advise when I was our teacher, I might be out of line now but I hope you held the guys license while he had your car.

  5. wendy kruse says:

    Is Alaska next??? I was hoping Holly springs, NC!!!!! 🙂

  6. Tracie Heise says:

    Ya know, I think about you and what you’re going through often, and I was just thinking about one of your posts recently-the one where you mentioned being looked at when you go out in public. has it ever occurred to you that maybe you look familiar to people? Maybe they are wondering if you are who they think you are 🙂 ? Anyway, just wanted you to know that if I ever stumble across you in public, I may stare for a bit, then give you a big hug. You, your journey, the life you are living & loving certainly puts things in perspective. Much luck, love, and happiness!

  7. Johnny Z says:

    First off, Laurie the soup was amazing!!!!! Actually thinking about the soup again is making me lose focus on the second thing I was going to mention. Oh yeah, now I remember. Secondly, Bret I can’t wait to see when you find the title and realize that it was you that misplaced it and then your gonna feel really really bad for harassing Shan over it. If only there were some magical place in NY that you could get a replacement title (http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/regtitle.htm) you may even be able to do it when you go to get your new license for the restrictions. I still say heck with that. I don’t see why you need a new license when you drive an automatic transmission and you only use one leg anyway. The only time I need the other leg is when I’m getting out of the car and I don’t usually do that when the car is moving. Although sometimes I use 2 legs while in the passenger seat bracing for impact, but that’s a completely different story.
    P.S.
    Lighten up Francis

  8. Laurie says:

    Firstly, Thanks for the compliments on the Thai Peanut Chicken Soup. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Everyone brings Chicken Noodle Soup when people are “sick”, but when you’re Bret your get something a little different. I already have another recipe in mind for the next visit: homemade granola bars (Thanks for the recipe Theresa). The Outage has been intense from day one so I had to get caught up on the blog tonight – my night off.

    You’ve made a couple of comments about people looking at you when you come into a place. Next time when you’re there for a while just start watching the people. People always look when someone new walks through the door, especially at a place like Hooligans. If they continue to look then they are probably thinking “Wow, how would I handle that?” So, you just continue with your new teaching position and we’ll continue to learn.

    On laundry – Women love a man who folds laundry. Let’s see you do this next time.

    Shannon, I think we need a relaxing Spa Day… maybe in Alaska!

    You both remain in our thoughts everyday.

    Laurie and Scott

Leave a Reply

