My New Transportation

After a weekend of friends and entertainment, Monday was a day of getting caught up around the house.  As I worked on the blog, Shannon took a walk down to the post office.  Not long after, she came back with a really cool surprise…my Side Stix crutches.  I wasn’t expecting them until later in the week at the earliest, so I was really excited when she announced that they arrived as she walked in the door.  I tore into the package like a kid on Christmas Day.

For such a simple device, there were so many components: carbon fiber tubes, forearm handles, and a rotating/articulating foot in addition to a few extras I splurged on like snow shoes, sand shoes, and hiking tips.  I couldn’t wait to try them out; without even referring to the instructions I went to town getting them set up.  I’ve been banking on these crutches improving my quality of life significantly, so I have high expectations.

After taking several laps around the house and attempting the stairs a few times, I was starting to get comfortable with the switch from a standard crutch to the forearm style.  It’s only been a day, but so far I am really happy with them.  I am able to get around quicker and they seem less harsh on my joints.  Okay, so I think they look cooler too.

After running around the house all morning playing with my new crutches, Shannon forced to me to sit down for half an hour and eat some lunch.  Still sticking to our healthier lifestyle she made another incredible meal.  It was a simple turkey sandwich and salad, but with a gourmet twist.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My New Transportation

  1. Cousin Mike says:

    MMMMMMMM… I would like to come over to eat that lunch! New arm-legs look great, Bret! Pretty soon you’ll be trying out cool tricks with them.

  2. ginger johannes says:

    can you get flames painted on the side sticks?
    I cant wait for your Alaska adventure to see how well they operate for you.. Oh ya,, that lunch looks awesome..

  3. Matt says:

    pretty slick new ride!

  4. Cousin Michelle, Mario, and Simona says:

    Um Shannon…. you should have been a chef- yummy sandwich! Great new crutches Bret, we hope that they make it easy to get around and back on the road for you!

  5. Carol burke says:

    Shannon, One sandwich to be delivered to Destin please!
    Bret, Nice lookin crutches dude! Have cool crutches will travel!

  6. HP says:

    Congrats on your new ride, Bret! Now they just need to be pimped. 😉 I think that b/c of the carbon fiber make-up of the side stix, bicycle (as in Tour de France, pro-quality bikes) paint jobs may provide some inspiration. These are some of my favorite bike brands for pimped-out frames. Klein apparently no longer makes bikes, but there are some great images of their paint jobs.

    http://www.colnago.com/bikes

    http://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?_adv_prop=image&fr=yfp-t-701-s&va=klein+bicycle+paint+colors

    And, Shan, you gotta stop making such great-looking lunches. Or I’m gonna have to ban Pascal from the blog. 🙂

  7. Carly Szabo says:

    I think Shannon should start her own food blog! And Bret, those new “stix” look SO much more comfortable to use!

  8. Uncle Kevin & Aunt Judy says:

    Bret, You do look so cool with those new crutches! Whether they feel better for you or not, they sure look great to the rest of us. I can see Ev & Ow wanting some too. Shannie can certainly fix up a great looking lunch–again, the envy of all of us!

  9. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    Very very cool side stix crutches – Shannon will have to take a video of you moving out… if she can keep up! And I agree with the other comments your lunch looks so yummy.

  10. Jessica says:

    Shannon – have you been visiting Epicurious?

    Bret – those Side Stix look great! They have to be more comfortable than the crutches, but can you still swing on them? (Looked like that was becoming an absent-minded muscle-buliding habit for you…) I guess you’ll have to get Mike back over to do push-ups with you!

  11. jean loughran says:

    awesome looking crutches; have you tried on any fitted shirts lately? Bet your upper body’s already getting bigger and stronger. Can’t wait til you post the ‘ripping the phone book in 1/2″ video.

  12. Uncle Lee and Aunt Sharon says:

    Bret,
    So glad those new Side Stix were delivered sooner than you expected. You’re already navigating like a pro with them as evidenced by when we saw you the other day. Speaking of which, we had such a great time with you and Shan – our get-together was so very special! 🙂 Thanks so much for meeting up with us, knowing it is a very busy week for you as you get ready to get back on the road soon. We’ll certainly look forward to doing it again when you return. How was dinner, by the way? Did anyone recognize you from earlier in the day? 🙂
    Shannie, that is one amazing looking lunch that you made! I’ll be anxious to know what else was in that wonderful looking salad besides the asparagus (good choice!), tomatoes, and could it be roasted red peppers? Mmmmmmmm!!!!!!! You and Michelle both share a talent for culinary artistry with your unique and yummy creations!
    Sending hugs to you both on this SUNNY and long awaited beautiful Spring day – ENJOY!

  13. Cousin Geoffrey says:

    Pretty fancy hiking poles, Bret! You should wrap some duct tape around them like I do on mine. Never know when you are going to need some duct tape! I’m jealous of the snow-shoe attachments – sure beats extra large baskets! I can’t wait to see them in action!

  14. Jack says:

    Lookin’ good, Bret! I’m confident you’ll have the new Stix mastered in no time.

  15. Fred Borrelli says:

    can you use those as fishing poles – i hear there are great salmon in Alaska?

    Fred

  16. Larry M says:

    Nice Bret. Busy Saturday 5/14? Thinking homemade Mexican and a boat ride at Sodus Point if you can? Let me know. 860-235-7086.

Leave a Reply

