Welterweight

As we discussed with Dr. O’Keefe over the weekend, Monday afternoon we headed in to get a PET/CT Scan — a routine with which I have become really familiar.  First off is a weigh-in, and I was interested to see what weight class I would be fighting in knowing that I had lost a lot of weight over the past couple of weeks.  I hadn’t intentionally been loosing weight but had been following a healthier diet when I suddenly noticed the pounds shedding…definitely a little quicker than I would have liked.  Prior to amputation I weighed 195, shortly after 175, and now a 147 pounds.  With the tumors already visibly spreading on my stump and down a significant amount of weight, this is when I decided I would start eating whatever sounded good again.  So, Shannon volunteered to run to Amiel’s to get my favorite roast beef sub on white bread while I was getting scanned.

Meanwhile I had to choke down a cocktail of thick, white, nasty contrast.  As if the drink wasn’t disgusting enough, it comes out of a large bottle that always reminds me of elementary school paste…not something that looks like it is meant to be consumed.  Usually I get away with just a little butterfly needle that is painless, but because this was also a diagnostic CT scan I would need an IV.  I’ve become very used to needles and don’t have nearly the fear that I used to, but for some reason I just was not in the mood today to be poked and prodded.   But after a small prick, the rest was easy; an hour of rest and relaxation while the injection circulates followed by a 20 minute scan.  I was just relieved when the scan was finally over so we could get home and continue renewing my junior-high history education with the American Experience series while kicking back and enjoying my coveted Amiel’s sub.  Now it’s just waiting for the results.

About bhoefen

Going on a road trip.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welterweight

  1. Reggie & Mary Lee says:

    So glad you are back to eating what sounds good… not that I am against a healthy diet but it seemed like you were missing some special comfort food!

    I thought kids liked to eat paste! The whole process sounded awful (loved your facial reaction photo ) sure glad you got through it!

  2. Carol burke says:

    Down the hatch! lol “Chalk” it up to another experience with the medical field!
    Have a beautiful weekend! love you guys!

Leave a Reply

